Daily Archives: August 27, 2009

She Says… Clomid: The Good, the Bad & the Ugly

I received so many great comments and emails from my previous post about Clomid. I LOVE to hear stories like, “My friend took Clomid and was pregnant with twins the first month!”. And, although they aren’t quite as exciting (but equally important!), the ones like, “I took Clomid for months and had horrible side effects and still am not pregnant.” If you haven’t already realized, I am a helpless over-researcher. Heck, this blog was mostly a place for me to gather my research for myself and others. Even though I know that there’s no way to predict how I will react to Clomid, it makes me feel better to know that I’ve gathered all of the information. I am a planner, what can I say?

In pure Type A fashion, here’s a list of the top things I’ve learned about Clomid:

  • Approximately 80% of women taking Clomid will ovulate within the first three menstrual cycles. (Wahoo! This is great news for me, as it seems that everything works just fine inside my body, except that I’m not ovulating.)
  • Research shows that about 40% of women using Clomid are able to conceive within the first three cycles. About 50% of women are able to conceive within six months of use. (Although I wish these numbers were higher, you have to remember that the women taking Clomid in the first place are already struggling with infertility. So if nearly half of “infertile” women get preggo on Clomid, that’s not bad odds!)
  • Potential side effects of Clomid include mood swings, dizziness, nausea, and breast tenderness. Some women felt horny and others lost their sex drive, most experienced vaginal dryness (as Clomid dries up your cervical mucus… not a good side effect for trying to make babies!), and bloating. Still others had hot flashes and tendency to cry at the drop of a hat. (We’re in for a wild ride, here, folks! And hopefully it’s all worth it…)
  • And last, but certainly not least, the most controversial point about Clomid (at least for Benjamin and I): Taking Clomid increases a woman’s chance of having twins by about 10 percent!

Be still my heart! Seriously, I’m going to let you in on a little secret: I WANT TWINS. I have ALWAYS wanted twins. I am dying for twins. The silver lining of struggling with infertility at all for me has been the prospect of an increased chance of having twins! More to come on this later, though. I know my wonderful husband has some words to say about it…

Any more Clomid stories for me? What do you think about having twins?