Daily Archives: October 13, 2010

She Says… Lessons from Mommy Group: Part 5

I can’t believe it’s been 6 weeks since I started my Mommy Group. It seems like just last week we had our first class in which almost everyone teared up as they talked about the struggles they were facing. And the babies were so tiny. Yesterday we had our last class and were all in awe of how far we’ve come in 6 weeks.

Learning to be a mother is an incredibly steep learning curve.

Things happen so fast that they seem to go by in an instant, yet every single minute of every day (and night) you are learning more about your baby. It’s the epitome of total immersion. I’ll never be able to write down all of the things that I’ve learned, both about Owen and about myself, but I do know that so many things make sense today that made no sense just a few short weeks ago, and so many things seem possible today that I couldn’t have dreamed of back then.

The most important transformation in myself that I’ve seen (and I continue to see, every day) is how Owen has stretched me to break out of my rules and my schedules and my routines. He has forced me to be more spontaneous, and to realize that everything doesn’t have to be perfect for it to be right or fun. Every day I feel a little better about getting out of the house (even if it’s naptime!) and trying something new with him. I have gotten to know him so intimately that I can almost always anticipate what he needs. That’s love. And I love it.

So I signed up for the next class. This group has been one of the best things I’ve done for Owen and I, and I couldn’t resist another 6 weeks. And hey, it can’t hurt to make a few more mom friends, right? Oh how my attitude has changed since this post! Apparently I love chatting about my baby over lunch 🙂