She Says… Olympic Gold

We have Olympic fever up in this hizouse.

But I’m still a stickler for screen time, so Owen hasn’t really gotten to watch much of it. (Benjamin and I, however, have spent most nights clicking away at our laptops while binge-watching any and all events. We sure know how to have a good time, eh?). Nevertheless, Olympic fever is contagious, y’all.

So we’ve come up with some new events to occupy ourselves through all of the unrelenting snowstorms.

6 responses to “She Says… Olympic Gold

  1. LOVE it! Gold medals to all 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness how adorable!!! What priceless memories 🙂

  3. Omg, that is amazing! So cute! Also, I have a crush on your kitchen. And your play kitchen too 😉

  4. @Larissa, Thank you! The mini one is from Ikea.

  5. LOVE the videos! I’ve been reading your blog for awhile and recently have been struggling with what kind of screen time limits with my little girl (2yrs and 3mnths). I’d rather fall on the side of less than more. None of my other mommy friends are as restrictive as I’d like to be, so I’m looking for some ideas…Will you share what yours are? Do you differentiate between things like screen games and television/shows (e.g. active screen time vs. passive screen time)? What about looking at pictures (my daughter LOVES to do this, do you think it counts as screen time?) I’m just looking for some thoughts and opinions…it woudl be a great help.

  6. @Daniele, It’s definitely a tough one! I have thought about doing a post on my screen time limits and I would love to hear what others do/think about the topic. But honestly, I don’t want to deal with the judgment from others on this topic, or start a mom war debate. I’m happy with where we are at the moment with screen time and it’s working so us, so I think that’s what really matters.

    We have found that Owen really needs screen time when he first wakes up, and right before he goes up to bed at night. It’s the only time all day that his body is still, and so we use it as a transition from seeping to waking/waking to sleeping. He’s also the type of kid who can’t seem to appreciate exceptions to rules, so we never deviate from this schedule except when he’s super sick. Sometimes I wish I could use tv as a crutch at other times of the day, but it just doesn’t work for him. I pick his shows VERY carefully and will not allow any shows with bratty language, tones of voice I don’t like, etc. At the moment we only allow Little Einsteins, Daniel Tiger, Curious George and a new one, Wild Kratts (about animals).

    So he gets tv in the morning (15 minutes on school days or a full 30 minute show on weekends) and in the evening (full 30 minute show before bed). In between, I allow iPad or Leapster time about 10-15 minutes throughout the day (after school he likes to play on my iPad while I make dinner, or on home days he likes a few minutes to play games on my phone when he wakes up from his nap). This screen time I use as rewards or incentives to wake up nicely,or have a nice pickup from school, etc. That adds up to about 1.5 hours on the weekends and 1 hour on weekdays.

    I don’t count looking at photos as screen time, but I do limit it after a few minutes. When he was younger this was tough; now he doesn’t care as much about looking at pictures. I do see a difference between active screen time like playing on the Leapster and passive screen time, which he only gets at morning and night, but honestly I see evidence that he is learning from both things.

Leave a Reply

