She Says… Hi and a Little Help?

Hello my virtual friends. Apologies for being so MIA. I feel a bit like a duck these days, calm and cool on the surface of the water but paddling like crazy underneath. Hence the quiet. I’ll be back soon, I promise! I have so many things to tell you. (Side note: Even when I’m quiet here, I’m often still pretty actively posting pictures and snippets from our lives on Twitter and Instagram, so follow me there!)

In the meantime (AS IF I needed one more thing to add to my plate), 2 friends have recently sent me the link to auditions for this show, Listen to Your Mother. They are coming up in a few weeks. I actually don’t know much about the show, but apparently it is “a national series of original live readings shared locally on stages and globally via social media“. They are looking for moms who have a piece of writing they’d like to share to audition by reading it aloud.

Those of you who have been reading for a long time know that theater, and performing (mostly musical theater, but I’ll take what I can get), is in my blood. It’s what I thought I was going to do with my life (but am now VERY glad I didn’t). I love to be on that stage, though it’s been years since I was.

When I saw the link for the audition, my heart skipped a beat.

But then my next thought was “but I don’t have anything to read”.

Of course, that’s just crazytalk. Because isn’t THIS WHOLE BLOG something I could read? I write little tiny stories every day. Err, I used to write them every day. Now I write them like twice a week, but hey, who’s counting.

So I’m asking you for a favor. Do you have a favorite blog post, story or topic that I’ve written about? Do any of my posts stick out in your mind as funny, sad, poignant, beautiful, worthy of being read in front of an audience? I’m not [just] fishing for compliments, I am really struggling with what I have to offer this series. I really, really, really want to try.

If nothing else, preparing and auditioning will pull me out of my comfort zone like whoa. So, help a sister out?

14 responses to “She Says… Hi and a Little Help?

  1. I think doing your day recaps might give you some good story topics. You did a few reviews recently of your daily schedules, and there were so many interesting things in there that you’ve learned, both from having Owen and then now having two. You juggle, you handle hurdles well that were once overwhelming (sickness, allergies)… these are now daily things for you (ok, the allergies are, but not the sickness, hopefully!), but they’re still very write-able and interesting. So maybe if you do a daily calendar of events once in a while (even if it’s a work day– how much do you pump? How do you handle that? Who drops kids off at daycare? How do they act at dropoff/pickup?), it will spark some additional story ideas. 🙂

  2. (note: this isn’t a true suggestion for the series, but one that might cause some reflection that results in a series idea.)

  3. One (or two) that stand out for me are the stories about your smoke detector. I’m not sure why… other than they are really memorable and real stories!

  4. I personally love the letters you write to your sons. I was just reading the one to 4-month Emmet and think it is really swaet. Maybe you could pick your favorite letter?

  5. When you wrote to Owen “On Becoming a Big Brother”. That one.

  6. There was one that you wrote on your first mother’s day that was a real tear-jerker.

  7. I love the two you wrote, one from you, one from your hubby, right after you found out you were preggo with own. It was such a rush of happy emotions that I think either of those would be great…

  8. grr… owen, now own…

  9. I realize this is very personal and you may not want to share it in a more public way, but I’ve always loved your heart-wrenching stories most. They really resonated with me and illustrated what a wonderful writer you can be. I think if you’re awarded plenty of time for the audition, perhaps choosing a post from the miscarriage series would be best suited for something of this nature.
    Don’t get me wrong, I think your update posts are great and pretty interesting, but I think something from this period would be far more moving and provide you with a better chance of getting the “part.” Good luck!

  10. Thank you all so much! Definitely some posts I had forgotten all about. Lots to think about. I just signed up for an audition slot so IT’S ON.

  11. I said it then and I still think so now, but your first mother’s day post was flat out one of the best things I’ve ever read.

  12. My daughter turns 1 tomorrow, so I’ve been rereading some of your posts from when Owen was that age and I came across two that made me laugh out loud: Thunder Thighs and A is for Apple. So funny!

  13. @Marissa, These just made me laugh so hard. I had forgotten about both.

  14. your post from miscarriage….gosh…that was so emotional…and i literally cried after reading that….

Leave a Reply

