She Says… Tree Trimming

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Time to lug that pine needle dropping monstrosity into the living room to fill our house with the smell of Christmas.

I LOVE IT.

TgivingWknd2013-24

The simple joy of picking a Christmas tree and setting it up is a tradition that will never get old for me. This year, Owen loved helping pull all of our boxes of decorations out of storage and dumping their contents on the ground (note to self: get more unbreakable Christmas decorations STAT).

TgivingWknd2013-25

We went to our favorite tree place (which also happens to be our favorite pumpkin place too) and had a blast running between the trees picking our favorites. Owen seems to have inherited my perfectionism with picking one. He would scrunch up his nose and say, “Nah, that one is too little” or “Let’s just look over here…”. If it was just the two of us, we could have been there all day!

TgivingWknd2013-26 TgivingWknd2013-27

Finally we agreed on the perfect one, and Owen shouted out instructions while the guy tied it on top of our car. Because obviously Owen knows best.

TgivingWknd2013-28

When we got home we got out each of our ornaments, one by one, and talked about where they came from. I love the way Owen has absorbed these stories and re-tells them in bits and pieces.

TgivingWknd2013-30 TgivingWknd2013-31

We have a Christmas ball that Benjamin and I decorated on the night we got engaged. An ornament from our first Christmas as a married couple. Lots of “Baby’s 1st Christmas” ornaments from Owen’s first Christmas (another note to self: Get Emmett THE EXACT SAME NUMBER because that is totally something they will fight over in years to come). Last year my mom even sent me a cracking old ball from the year I was born that my grandmother gave me. It makes me cry just to hold it every year.

TgivingWknd2013-32

Each year I buy one personalized ornament with each of the boys’ names, and the year. The past few years I have gotten them from this Etsy shop. Soon our whole tree is going to be filled with little clay faces documenting our years decorating trees together.

TgivingWknd2013-33 TgivingWknd2013-34

Emmett seems to love the tree as much as the rest of us. Milk runs out of his mouth as he gazes, mouth agape. We turn off the lights in the evening and just sit and stare. Owen always whispers, “It’s so BEE-YOO-TEE-FUL!”.

TgivingWknd2013-35

Another I-didn’t-kn0w-this-was-going-to-be-a-tradition tradition is getting out our angel chimes. My mom used to set these up when I was a kid and I distinctly remember feeling the same kind of Christmas magic that I see in Owen’s eyes now.

When I was traveling for work in Munich in 2010 (when I got stuck there super duper pregnant thanks to the volcano erupting), I bought our family a carved wooden spinning Christmas thing (no idea what they are really called). Now every year the unpacking of these two decorations and the lighting of the candles with Owen has become one of my favorite moments ever. Watching Emmett’s bright little eyes in the candlelight this year made it even better than ever before.

We light them every night at dinner now. Owen wouldn’t have it any other way.

TgivingWknd2013-36

Despite the needle-covered carpet, this is my favorite time of year.

TgivingWknd2013-37

9 responses to “She Says… Tree Trimming

  1. We call those spinnig things “Pyramiden”
    Have a wonderful christmas time.
    Christina from munich 😉

  2. @christinajs, Thank you! Owen will love that 🙂

  3. Where did you get those personalized star ornaments?? So nice!

  4. @Maryanne W., They were from Pottery Barn Kids.

  5. Like Christina said, it’s called “christmas pyramid” (Weihnachtspyramide) in Germany.

    Have a wonderful Christmas with Owen and Emmett!

    Greetings from Nuremberg (where the famous “Christkindlesmarkt” takes place every year)

  6. Getting on the Christmas mood!!
    Can’t wait to see the holiday video of this year! 😀

  7. I’ll second being excited for your holiday video. Emmett’s cheeks…I can’t. Your kids are so. CUTE. Those ornaments are a fun idea!

  8. What sweet pictures! Congrats on your latest addition to the family 🙂

  9. Your family is just beautiful! We want to try a new tree next year. The only part I’m dreading is the lights! 🙂 Love the pics!

Leave a Reply

