She Says… Giving Thanks

I know, I know, Thanksgiving was last week. But I decided to spend my long weekend relishing in my family rather than sitting in front of the computer posting pictures. And then with the excitement of the nursery “reveal” and Uh Oh Pasghettio giveaway (if you haven’t entered, go do it! You have until Sunday night to win a super cute set of wall art prints) I didn’t get to it. So here we are.

As I mentioned last week, I didn’t get to the grocery store until the Wednesday morning before Thanksgiving. Thankfully I got everything I needed and didn’t have to fight anybody for the plump little 15 pound turkey I snagged. Win!

TgivingWknd2013-6

I worked from home all day Wednesday, though, and since work was so crazy I didn’t get a chance to start prepping or cooking until Thursday morning. Thank goodness for family who offered to make some of the dishes. (And thank goodness for having 2 ovens to cook in!).

TgivingWknd2013-22

We spent the morning hanging out in our pajamas and watching the Macy’s Day parade. It is honestly one of my most favorite things to watch. Ever. Even trumps those darn Kardashians that I seem to end up watching whenever Benjamin is gone. I am pretty sure the parade is where I first fell in love with Broadway/musical theater. And that’s definitely where my love affair with the Rockettes began.

Watching it with Owen and seeing him mesmerized by the choreography and costumes and delight in the floats and the balloons made me get all verklempt.

TgivingWknd2013-9 TgivingWknd2013-5

We hung out with both sides of Benjamin’s family. Very thankful to have family nearby to celebrate with (and grandparents who will entertain the littles while I cooked away).

TgivingWknd2013-3 TgivingWknd2013-4

Food was cooked (all gluten free!)…

TgivingWknd2013-12

wine was drunk (drank? drunken? drinked?)…

TgivingWknd2013-14

food was devoured…

TgivingWknd2013-16

bellies were full.

TgivingWknd2013-17

TgivingWknd2013-18

The boys even got their first taste of Hanukkah (Thanksgivukkah?) as we lit candles with some of the Jewish side of the family.

TgivingWknd2013-19 TgivingWknd2013-10

Despite the busy-ness of the season, we have a LOT to be thankful for.

 

4 responses to “She Says… Giving Thanks

  1. Maybe it’s just in comparison to Emmett, but I cannot handle how big and grown up Owen looks in these pics!

  2. @SarahJayBee, I know! I agree. I think it’s his most recent haircut, too. They used the buzzer a little bit and somehow shaved off his babyhood.

  3. Benjamin and his grandma are twins in these pics! That expression! love!

  4. @Jessica, That is so funny that you say that. I see the resemblance here too, but they are not related by blood!

Leave a Reply

