She Says… BIG Thanks and Day 1 Down

First things first, I want to thank each and every person who commented on my post about Owen’s rough patch. I’m so thankful to hear that others are going through the same thing with their kids, with or without the new baby issue added in (aka this is just a three year old thang). Several of you offered REALLY good suggestions of things to do. Some we do already (like giving 2 “good” choices for just about every decision throughout the day and letting him choose) and some new ones (different incentives, hugging it out instead of more discipline, etc.). Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Maybe all I had to do was blog about it, because this weekend was FAR better. We still have a long ways to go, and he still has weird blowups about totally insignificant (to me) things, but overall we both changed our attitude a little and we seem to be much more on the same page. The chart that I made has been a huge help for our morning and evening routine, and I also sprinkled in some surprise incentives instead of just making him fill up a whole sticker chart to motivate him more and let him “win” a little. I think last week was particularly rough because Benjamin was working a lot and I was stressed in the evenings trying to get dinner made and Emmett cuddled after long days at daycare and was saying a lot of “no” instead of “yes”. In any case, I think we’re on a much better trajectory for this week.

Which is a big relief, because it’s a big week for me. Yesterday was my first day back at work!

Day 1 down and we all survived.

In fact, we did better than just survived. Owen had a great day at school (sticker day!), Emmett ate and slept like a champ and I made both of my trains without running and pumped every 2.5 hours while making a huge dent in the 650+ unread emails in my inbox. Late in the afternoon I got a text from Benjamin that his shoot was going to be late so I had to pick up the kids (NOT what we had discussed that morning). The train schedule works out such there is only one train that I can take to get back in time to get them. Unfortunately it is later than I like to pick them up, which was a little stressful, but it was our only option. So I picked up both kids, successfully got dinner on the table (straight from the freezer, hey, something’s gotta give) while still making Owen feel like I was playing with him the whole time and did double bathtime/bedtime single-handed.

Supermom SCORE.

Days like that remind me why working challenges me in new ways and teaches us ALL important lessons about flexibility.

We’re all going to be fine. We’ll find our groove.

4 responses to “She Says… BIG Thanks and Day 1 Down

  1. Angie All The Way

    This makes me smile! Awesome first day back, despite the added challenge! Kuddos to you for taking it all in stride and turning it positive.

    I find parenthood to be a bit of a roller coaster with the “good” days and “not so good” days in how it makes you feel and it definitely impacts the morale when the young ones go through a rough patch and it equally boosts you through the roof when all the cogs churn 🙂

  2. Awesome! So happy you found your groove!!! Your positive attitude is really admirable!

  3. Glad you rocked it!

    Also glad you found your way into the “yes zone.” If mama can say yes a lot, it makes all of us happy. The trick is carving out opportunities for that zone to exist.

  4. Hooray! Congrats on a successful first day back – and even with some wildcards thrown in! Nice job, supermom.

Leave a Reply

