She Says… On Pause

We’re sort of on pause over here in the This Place is Now a Home home. Treading water, if you will. There’s a lot going on.

Following my doozy of a day last week, the weekend was equally as busy and full of calamity (generally amusing calamity, but calamity nonetheless). On Saturday we packed the car and headed out bright and early for our first and last beach day of the summer. Unfortunately our day was cut short by an unexpected SOAKING rainstorm that caught us off guard and not-yet-packed-up, which meant we had to run to the car blinded by raindrops and dragging blankets (and children) through the muddy parking lot. If it had just been Benjamin and I, I would have found the situation hilarious and maybe even a little bit romantic. With a screaming newborn and confused and frustrated 3 year old? Not so much. Blog post to come on that.

Then, remember how I mentioned I hadn’t exactly healed yet since having Emmett? Well the bleeding I have been experiencing for the last 7 weeks started to increase during beach day and continued on Sunday. So much so that my doctor almost recommended I head to the ER (emergencies on holiday weekends are the best, right?). I hemmed and hawed about spending hours in the ER to have them tell me, “Yeah, you just had a baby, your body is healing” and the bleeding fluctuated enough that I told myself it was normal and I could wait until the weekday to see my regular doctor. Surprise! Not normal. A visit to the doc yesterday prompted an ultrasound that showed a mass/polyp/fibroid/something in my uterus making it impossible for it to shrink down to its proper size.

Apparently fibroids (which is the doctor’s best guess as to what this is) are relatively normal and not generally a big deal, but given that it is impeding my postpartum healing and causing a lot of bleeding, they want to remove it immediately. So I’m headed for surgery next Monday.

Sigh.

And, in the midst of that, one of my oldest friends who I have known since I was Owen’s age came to visit us and meet Emmett. We had a blast hanging out and gossiping like middle schoolers. She was the perfect distraction to thinking about what could be going on in my uterus.

BUT all of the fun we’ve been having means little time for blogging. I have lots of pictures to share and posts half-written in my head, so stay tuned for more. And in the meantime, send me your happy thoughts for surgery on Monday and share any positive stories of fibroid surgery (if they exist)?!

11 responses to “She Says… On Pause

  1. oh my! what a crazy time. Sending healing thoughts your way for your surgery…am sure it will go well. Rest up and hope it gets better!! you are amazing!

  2. Oh man!! I’m sorry to hear you have that fibroid issue. Sending lots of positive thoughts your way for the surgery. Hopefully it’s done and healed quickly!!

  3. I have had a fibroid since my first pregnancy and while it didn’t affect my postpartum bleeding (that I know of), it makes my periods ridiculous. So much so that I had to take Lysteda to slow the bleeding. I did not have surgery, though. Best of luck for a quick recovery!

  4. Praying for a quick surgery and recovery. Definitely doesn’t sound fun to add that into the mix right now!

  5. So sorry to hear about the surgery. Hoping that recovery is speedy and you can get back on your feet in no time.

  6. Angie All The Way

    Oh no! Do you feel ok otherwise? Will it be a quick recovery? Will be thinking of you on Monday!

  7. I haven’t had fibroid surgery, but have had an ovarian cyst removed laproscopically (sp?) and a d&c the old fashioned way. I’m assuming this will be laproscopic? If so, expect to be sore the next day – they essentially inflate your abdomen to give themselves enough room to work, and the result is very sore abs. This was the most unexpected surprise to me. Otherwise, stitches were very small and healed quickly. Other normal post-surgery stuff: sleep is off, constipation. Be prepared to be “off” for a few days. Good luck. For me, the anticipation was worse in both cases than the actual surgery or recovery.

  8. My mom had some massive fibroids that were discovered in her last pregnancy – they didn’t affect her at all, but it seems like the size and placement of the pesky buggers can mean different things for different people. I hope the surgery goes well, recovery is easy and this solves the bleeding issue!

  9. My husband and I have been TTC for awhile now and last fall it was discovered that I had a couple polyps that would need to be removed. Not because they were harmful but because they could be impeding implantation and they were also causing me to spot. The procedure was a simple D&C, outpatient surgery. Although we still have not conceived I’m glad that I had them removed. I believe that fibroids are very similar to polyps and you will come through this with flying colors thankful that you took care of it now! Good luck!

  10. That’s no fun! But it’s a relief to know that they are taking care of you (it) and I’m sure that you will recover well and feel better. Get lots of rest and take good care of yourself!!!

  11. Prayers to you all on Monday! I know you will be in good hands. I feel so fortunate to live near Boston – I’m going in for surgery at Brigham & Women’s on the 18th and am SO happy that is where I’ll be!

Leave a Reply

