She Says… Home Alone

It was quiet here yesterday for the first time since Emmett was born.

  • Benjamin was working
  • My mom (who stayed with us for the last 6 days helping out) had gone home
  • Owen was at school

It was just me and the little guy.

The first time this happened with Owen I remember feeling a bit panicked. What if something happened? How did I go to the bathroom or shower? What if I couldn’t get him to stop crying? What would we do all day? This time, it just felt… peaceful.

Yesterday I kept a list of what we did (since I distinctly remembering feeling like I hadn’t gotten anything done when I was home with Owen as a baby).

6:30am: He “woke up” (and by woke up I mean I opened the windows and considered it morning, despite the fact that we are up every 2-3 hours around the clock), right when Owen does. It’s Owen’s 3rd birthday today (!!!) so I made Emmett wait to nurse so we could go in and sing Happy Birthday. Emmett wasn’t too thrilled with that idea, so I ended up nursing while singing and  then Benjamin got Owen ready for school while Emmett and I finished up. Emmett and I said goodbye to the boys.

7:15am – 8:30am: Emmett chilled in his chair while I had breakfast and he dozed off while I started a batch of homemade yogurt and cleaned up the mess from the somewhat hectic evening with both kids.

8:30am – 9:00am: Before I knew it, it was time to nurse again. This time we watched the Today Show and I not-so-secretly loved all of the royal baby coverage.

9:00am – 10:00am: Quiet awake time for Emmett, and then his first at-home sponge bath. I kind of forgot how to do this around the (gross) umbilical cord but I got the job done. Of course as soon as I toweled him off, he peed everywhere.

matleave1

10:00am – 10:45am: Emmett was exhausted from the bath so I popped him in the Moby wrap for a nap and vacuumed our whole first floor. The sound of the vacuum soothes him, and he seems to love being jostled around, just like he was in the womb.

matleave2

10:45am – 11:00am: Spent time staring at his beautiful face while he woke up and stretched out after our vacuuming session.

11:00am – 11:30am: Nurse again.

11:30am – 12:45pm: This time instead of having some awake time after nursing, Emmett nursed himself into a milk coma and went right to sleep. I took advantage of his full belly and put him in his chair while I showered, folded laundry and ate lunch.

1:00pm – 2:00pm: Nurse again. This time, between waking Emmett up, a mayjuh diaper incident, waking him up again, and then a long nursing session, it took nearly an hour.

2:00pm – 2:30: Quiet awake time. Emmett looked around and bobbled his head while I carried him and patted his back and babbled about what we were doing. By 2:30 he was getting twitchy and was ready for another nap.

2:30pm – 3:15pm: Emmett sleeps in the swing while I wrap Owen’s birthday presents and go through the mail we had been ignoring from the last week.

3:15pm – 4:00pm: Nurse again.

4:00pm – 5:00pm: Ice cupcakes and prep for Owen’s birthday.

matleave3

At 5 Owen came home from school and we began Emmett’s slow decline to bedtime. He is seriously cluster feeding at night from around 6-9pm, which is slightly inconvenient because it’s the only time I get to spend with Owen on school days, and also coincides with dinner time. Though, really, is there ever a convenient time to be chained to the couch nursing a starving little animal? Tonight we had some help from the grandparents who made dinner and Owen was entertained with birthday presents for the most part.

matleave4matleave5

The cupcakes made the night.

 

A happy birthday to my first born and a successful first day home with Emmett. I realize the sleepy newborn days are fleeting (and I’m in for a LOT more awake time, likely fussy awake time, in the coming weeks), but so far I like the way this maternity leave feels.

10 responses to “She Says… Home Alone

  1. That video has left a huge smile on my face.

  2. Awhhhh, happy birthday Owen! Glad you had a peaceful day at home with Emmett!

  3. I felt the same way the first time I was alone with Ethan (panic!!!) and the first time I was alone with Miles (peace). It’s one of the really nice differences between the first and the second – your own sense of calm! And Miles used to just love cluster feeding right around dinnertime, so I finally just started nursing at the table while we ate. It was tough, but you’re right – this time is fleeting! And things will continue to change, usually right as you get used to them! 🙂 Happy Birthday to big brother Owen!

  4. I love how Owen keeps wanting to take the candle out of the cupcake! What sweet boys you have. Happy birthday to Owen and wahoo for a great first day at home with the little guy!

  5. Kate, you’re such a super-mom! How is breastfeeding going this time around? It sounds like you’re nailing it, congrats!

  6. Welcome Emmett. Glad day 1 was great. It sounds like nursing is going much better this time around. One trick is to practice nursing in the Moby – once you get the hang of it you can do things during the cluster feeding. Although sometimes it is nice to be chained to the couch 🙂

  7. Angie All The Way

    Happy Birthday Owen!!! It looked like he legitimately paused to make a wish before blowing it out, so cute 🙂

    I remember feeling panic that first time, but now that I’ve been through it, I imagine I would definitely feel much differently the second time. The confidence of some experienced mothering under your belt makes a huge difference. Make cupcakes & prepare for a birthday while caring for a newborn? SURE! 🙂

  8. sounds like things are going really well! I was wanting to ask, the little chair you put Emmett in, what is the name of it? it looks awesome and I think I want one for my next baby!

  9. Second babies are so much easier. Mine just turned 6 weeks old and it’s amazing what you learn from baby 1 lol. I think nursing was way easier too. The umbilical corn stump isn’t any less gross though lol. I’m about to spend my first week alone with 2 kids. That’s making me nervous!

  10. Thanks for taking the time to share with us how things are going! I love hearing about what it’s like with two little ones at home, because we have been talking about baby #2, and Maya will just be turning 2 in September. She is not great at self-play yet, so I often worry how it would be having a baby and a toddler at home together. Seems like you are doing a great job. From the sound of it, breast feeding is going well for you so far!

Leave a Reply

