She Says… A Race to the Finish

Major work of all kinds going on in our house this week.

MY JOB
Yes, I’m still working. From home, these days, so I really can’t complain too much. I’m mentally and physically quite DONE with sitting in front of a computer, but every day I am more and more certain that I’ve completed everything I need to complete to be able to have a stress-free maternity leave. Well, free from work stress, at least. So although it’s annoying to still be on conference calls (and fielding all of the ridiculous “Haven’t you had that baby yet?” comments), it’s keeping me busy and it feels like I’m still accomplishing things, even though delivering a baby isn’t one of them.

As soon as we head to the hospital… I’m out!

THE BASEMENT RENOVATION
I haven’t given too many updates about our basement renovation but it is going really, really well. We “broke ground” right after Memorial Day and the project was estimated by our contractor to take 4 weeks. I know those estimates usually need to be cushioned by a few weeks, so I was expecting 5-6 weeks, which meant the job would finish about a week before my due date. We had one setback (completely our fault, not his) that made us lose about 1.5 weeks, so the fact that we’re finishing up early next week means that the contractor was actually right on with his timeline. That almost never happens!

basementreno1

Essentially, since we are taking up our guest room for the baby’s nursery, we wanted to add a bedroom and bathroom in the unfinished space in our basement (half of it is currently finished, and half is unfinished storage space, but it all has full height ceilings) so guests can come stay and have their own space. While this is nice for them, it’s REALLY nice for me, so I don’t have to worry about guests waking up my kids when they go to bed at night.

basementreno2

As an interior designer who missed her calling (or, rather, dropped out of design school when I realized I wasn’t going to make any money for the next decade while I studied architecture, and likely didn’t need that degree if I wanted to do this as a business later in life), I was in heaven picking out paint colors, carpet, tile, bathroom fixtures, etc. Remember this design tv show-esque weekend? Awesome.

basementreno3

And now we are nearly done. The plumber is down there today finishing up the toilet and shower and sink hook-ups, and all that’s left is a bit of painting and some carpet that’s going in on Saturday. Inspections early next week and then it’s ready for our first guest — my mom, who is going to come as soon as she gets the call that the baby is on his way! I am so thrilled I can barely contain myself.

basementreno4

I definitely thought we’d have a baby by now, but the last few days of watching all of this come together has been a wonderful distraction.

LABOR
Oh, friends. So many “signs of labor” going on, I honestly can’t believe we’re not in the hospital yet. I had a midwife appointment on Wednesday and she confirmed that I’m now up to 3cm dilated and 75% effaced. She stripped my membranes for good measure (even though she doesn’t usually do that until 40 weeks and I was just over 39 weeks).

A few hours before my appointment I started having some pretty serious contractions that were coming every 10 minutes from 1pm until about 9pm. I thought maybe the membrane-stripping had been at the PERFECT time and would tip the scale and send me into active labor, but alas, when I got in bed at 10pm they were more like 20 minutes apart and not quite as regular. Another good night’s sleep (which is great, except that I was anxious to wake up in the hospital and not in my own bed). Thursday I had a similar experience of very regular (and pretty painful) contractions all afternoon, and then by bedtime, nothing. I guess I should be thankful that I’m getting the nights “off” to sleep, but I’d really rather things just get real and get moving.

Today, not so many contractions but some other, uhh, lovely symptoms, that I won’t go into detail about since friends and family are readers now 🙂  Suffice to say, if you’ve been pregnant before, you’ve “lost” this as well. So that plus a lot of cramping gives me hope that maybe I won’t be going back to work on Tuesday, and maybe this baby WILL arrive before his due date after all. But we shall see.

So. Now the race is on. Which will be finished first… the baby or the renovation?

4 responses to “She Says… A Race to the Finish

  1. I am SO SO hopping that the “losing” helps things along. With my first two I didn’t (or don’t remember” losing it at all. And with my third, I KNEW. And I thought it was awesome news. And then I still went another 5 days. Most frustrating thing ever. (I delivered baby 1 on his due date, naturally. Delivered baby 2 after a stripping at 38w5 and baby 3 made her way a whole 5 days late. UGH. I was 5cm and 100% when I went for an appointment, doc sent me to just break my water at that point. Before they did I was at a 6, broke it and I was 10 in less than 30 minutes.) Hope things happen, NOW!

  2. patriciamcaspurr@aol.com

    HI WELLAT THE MOMENT IAMFINDINGIT HARD TOWALK BELL YNOW HUGE

  3. I know you are SO READY to get baby boy out of there! It is fortunate that your contractions are during the day, though. With Eli, who I was induced with a week late, I had pretty painful contractions every night from about 1am – 5am for TWO WEEKS. Awesome.

  4. I’m not on twitter so commenting here -with number two contractions were never consistently a minute long and never very painful. If I would have waited for that I would have had the baby in our bathroom. I wanted to stay home but husband had a feeling and pushed me to go to hospital. So trust your gut – or your husband’s gut!

Leave a Reply

