She Says… A Weekend Off

Two events collided this weekend and ended up giving me a gift I didn’t even know I wanted needed.

  1. We were planning on heading up to New Hampshire with some of Benjamin’s family, many of whom were visiting from California and who we don’t get to see very often. We’ve had a few crazy weekends of “exceptions” for Owen and I’ve been working overtime recently, so I felt like all I really wanted was a calm weekend at home to recover. But our weekends available for road tripping before this baby arrives are disappearing fast and this trip has been planned for months!
  2. Then, at the end of last week, our contractor announced that things were moving so quickly with our renovation (THAT NEVER HAPPENS, I KNOW) that he needed ALL of our bathroom fixtures/vanity/tub and other interior “stuff” in his hands on Monday so he and the plumber and electrician can rough everything in. Ummm. Apparently picked out on Pinterest wasn’t enough. He needed them, like, now.

So we did something unprecedented that gave everyone what they wanted.

Benjamin and Owen went to New Hampshire to soak up the sun and give Owen lots and lots of family time. I stayed home and got the weekend at home I was craving, and was in charge of making as many trips to Home Depot and the like to get everything we needed for the renovation. Lest you think I got the short end of the stick there, I ADORE trips to Home Depot and making those types of design decisions. I also adored the idea of waking up to silence in the morning and not having my schedule dictated by anyone’s needs but my own. I also adored that Benjamin absolutely demanded that I get a mani-pedi and put my feet up for at least a little while.

Don’t get me wrong. I also adore my husband and child. But I think it goes without saying that a day or two away (or, even better, at home!) can be just what the doctor ordered. My brain, and my body, needed a rest. And this 3 day weekend gave me that, and so much more.

Friday afternoon while the boys were driving north I was able to reorganize a closet that has been causing me a lot of angst because our cleaning supplies were previously stored within Owen’s reach. The weekend hadn’t even started and I was already feeling proud of what I’d accomplished.

soloweekend1 soloweekend2

Saturday morning I “slept in” until 7:30am. It felt glorious. After 8 hours of shopping (and going to Home Depot, Lowe’s, HomeGoods, back to Lowe’s and back to Home Depot), I had selected and purchased everything on our list for the basement renovation (no small feat) and a few things that I needed to get the nursery from storage closet to cute space where I want my baby to sleep.

That night I DIYed a mobile that I wasn’t sure I’d have time to get to. I washed everyone’s sheets and towels. I emptied the nursery closet and folded and organized all of the clothes and blankets and hats and burp cloths. In short, I was the most productive person on the planet.

And that was only Saturday.

soloweekend3

On Sunday I worked on a half-finished quilt I’ve been “working on” (aka have had sitting on my desk and sewing table in various pieces for the last 8 months, awaiting the day that I had a few hours to devote to putting them together). I got a luxurious mani-pedi for nearly 2 hours.

soloweekend4soloweekend5

I came home, pulled out the power tools and installed some curtains in the nursery. I even turned down plans with friends to just “be” in my house and soak up the peace and quiet. I ate dinner in front of the tv. I didn’t do any dishes.

Now it’s Monday morning and my To Do list continues. Benjamin and Owen will be home later this afternoon, and before they get here I need to do laundry, clean the floors and the counters and go to the grocery store for the week. You know, normal stuff. But it feels monumentally easier to get done without any distractions.

I feel rejuvenated. And rested. And I found that my brain just worked better after having a few days to myself. Usually I’m the type of person who will go to the grocery store for milk, and come home with everything but the milk. This weekend, with a little bit more time and fewer demands on my brain, I found myself remembering the milk. That gives me hope for my memory returning once my kids get a little older. Mommy Brain is not just an excuse, friends!

It was like my own, private, super-productive babymoon. And now I can’t wait for the boys to get home.

11 responses to “She Says… A Weekend Off

  1. I am feeling very happy for you and very jeaouls 🙂

  2. It’s like we’re pregnancy TWINS! Haha. I’ve been exactly the same this past week. But I didn’t get the luxury weekend off, alas. Way to go, I know exactly how good it feels to get all that stuff done, and to be able to visit such places as Home Depot at your own leisure. Ahhhhh….

  3. Way to go!! This was a fun post to read.

  4. Sounds like the most perfect, glorious weekend if you ask me!

  5. that sounds so amazing. I’m glad you had a great weekend!!

  6. Sounds like an awesome weekend and just what you needed! I can’t wait to see everything you picked out for the basement project!

  7. So very, very jealous 🙂 Glad you got a few days of productivity and relaxation and that the reno is progressing so quickly!

  8. Good for you! Mama’s need alone time like that! Can I ask where you got those curtains for thr baby’s room? I am obsessed!

  9. That sounds amazing! The baby’s room looks wonderful!

  10. I also want to know where the curtains are from? Thanks!

  11. Hi ladies, @Sara and @Brittany, the curtains are from HomeGoods.

Leave a Reply

