She Says… Diaper Dabbler

As I mentioned, we have the “big stuff” (crib, changing table, glider in the nursery and carseat brought upstairs from the basement) ready for Baby #2’s arrival, but I haven’t really gotten around to the “little stuff”.

Like diapers.

Diapers are not actually “little stuff”, I guess. I mean, you NEED them. But I know from experience that the hospital sends you home with a stash, so maybe I haven’t gotten around to stocking the nursery because I know we’ll be ok. At least for the first… day.

Before Owen was born I did a lot of research on diapers. Would we use cloth? Biodegradable? Pampers? Huggies? Luvs? Target brand? What I realized after having him is that you really don’t know what will work for your kid (or your life) before your kid arrives. Ah, perspective is a beautiful thing, no?

I remember stocking Owen’s nursery with Pampers. Except when I came home from the hospital I looked at the package and noticed that it said “Baby Dry”, which was something I had been warned against by some friends because their kids had weird rashes as a result of the chemicals. As a new mother holding my tiny newborn, the idea of chemicals that could give my kid a rash put me in a tizzy and I nearly threw that barely-opened package out the window. Waste of money #1. Next we tried some of the more environmentally-friendly options and I found that they just didn’t work for us. Waste of money #2. Those of you who have been reading for a long time know that Owen was a super-peer from the day he was born, and he was exploding diapers left and right (and not just in the normal newborn way). Finally after buying countless packages of various brands and styles (wastes of money #3, #4, #5), we landed on Huggies Little Snugglers. They fit Owen’s skinny little bod really well and contained *most* of his peesplosions. That’s what we’ve continued to use into toddlerhood (and thank goodness for Huggies Overnights!), though thankfully we’re nearing the end of the diaper stage with him.

Of course in the newborn haze I could barely remember which ones I’d tried and how they worked for Owen, and I certainly didn’t have the presence of mind to think of a solution to all of this diaper trying (and diaper failing). But thankfully someone else created what I could not. A few months ago I came across Diaper Dabbler, a service that provides “sample packs” of various types of diapers along with an easy-to-use spreadsheet for you to write down how each one worked for you.

They have a number of sampler packs already selected. For example:

  • The Prepared Parent has 26 different varieties covering 18 different brands in 2 different sizes – newborn and size 1.
  • Mommy Mainstream has the most common diapers found in many retail stores (Huggies, Luvs, Pampers).
  • Mother Earth is for the parent who prefers something more environmentally-friendly with less chemicals (Honest Company, Earth’s Best, 7th Generation, Huggies Pure & Natural).
  • Modest Mama is easy on the wallet, containing one of each of the most common store-brand diapers (Target, Babies R Us, Costco, Walmart, CVS, Walgreens).

They also offer toddler packs or packs by size. As well as a handy little sheet for you to keep track of which ones worked for you. And a reference guide with rankings that shows information about each company. Finally, if none of the samplers are the right fit for you, they can even put together a custom pack based on your interests/needs.

They also gift wrap. What a cute idea for a baby shower gift! Perfect for a new mom, or a 2nd time mom like me who doesn’t need any more receiving blankets.

Diaper Dabbler kindly offered to send me a sampler pack based on some information I gave them about me and my family. I received 3 newborn diapers from each of the following companies: Naty by Nature Babycare (which I’ve never even heard of), Huggies Snug & Dry, Pampers Swaddlers Sensitive, Pampers Baby Dry, Huggies Little Snugglers, Seventh Generation Free & Clear. I’m so excited to try them out without having to buy a big package of each kind, and the researcher in me is excited to have a chart of data about what worked and what didn’t this time around.

They have a gift for you too! 25% off anything on their site until next Friday, June 7.

Just use the code HOME25.

Now I’m off to put these adorably teeny tiny little diapers in the new baby’s empty changing table.

***

As I mentioned above, I received a free sampler pack of diapers from Diaper Dabbler and offered to write this blog post. All opinions are entirely my own. I think they have a great idea to save us all a bit of money, and I really enjoyed getting to know the company. Thank you to Diaper Dabbler for offering This Place is Now a Home readers such a big discount as well!

7 responses to “She Says… Diaper Dabbler

  1. That’s definitely a cool idea. They have that market cornered, methinks. I will say that I’ve been using cloth with my second (BumGenius all-in-one pocket diapers) and he’s certainly got a heavy bladder flow, too. I’ve only had one leak, and that was because I waited too long for a change. The benefit to cloth (at least BumGenius) is that the diaper feels so dry to the touch. No diaper rash, no chemicals, and it saves you a ton of money, even with the laundering.
    I can’t bear to put disposables on the baby now that I’ve gone 8 months without that chemical smell or the absorbent gel made of I-can’t-even-imagine in Huggies or Pampers.
    Diaper Dabbler should try that with cloth for sure (of course the cost would be higher but if you didn’t like a particular diaper you could always send it back and they could sell it used). 🙂

  2. Sarah, Thank you for the suggestion!
    There are many sites selling cloth diaper packs, including sampler packs out there. We have thought about adding just one or two cloth brands though.

  3. What a cool idea and gift! It’s true that you don’t know what will work until you try! We had luck with seventh gen last baby, but this one I like nature babycare (Naty) better even tho it feels heavier when full. Can’t wait to hear about your experience!

  4. We are cloth diaper-ers in our house but I do use disposables when travelling or if my son gets a rash (we’re not supposed to use any diaper creams with our brand of cloth diapers). I wanted to comment on the Naty brand. I guess Ali liked them? It will be interesting to hear what you think of them as we didn’t like them at all–in fact, I believe my husband said to me, “never buy these again!”. I found that while taking them apart to put on my son, 9 times out of 10, I’d rip the tabs right off the diaper. Irritating.

  5. What a fantastic idea!!!!

  6. I second the suggestion to add a couple of cloth options. I used disposables on my first two kids (and we tried all kinds before settling on a brand, so the idea of a sample pack is awesome). I switched to cloth to save money the third time around, and I wish I had done it sooner.
    I think some people are reluctant to use cloth diapers because it seems like a lot of (gross) work, but you can’t just try them once – it takes a bit of a commitment, and if you don’t like it, you’re kind of stuck with it. A sample pack that included cloth ones would be great for people considering switching but unwilling to make the upfront investment before being sure it’s the right choice.

  7. This is such an awesome idea!! We went through so many diapers and truth is as the baby changes your needs change.

    We are now on the hunt for good night time diapers. Been through pampers and Huggins with no luck. They should create a night time pack next! I’d buy that for sure. I think I’ll give the modest mama a try. We tried Costco when g was a newborn and they did work but maybe they will now.

Leave a Reply

