She Says… Sand and Sun

Florida2013-12

A little sand and sun were just what the doctor ordered.

Florida2013-19Florida2013-17

Owen hadn’t been back in the water since last summer, and although I knew how much he loved swimming back then, I was expecting to have to do at least a little bit of reacclimating once he saw the pool/ocean.

Florida2013-29Florida2013-28

WRONG. He couldn’t have been more excited to get in the water. I think the kid is part fish. He jumped off the edge of the pool without a care in the world, and tried over and over again to convince us to let go of him because he can swim on his own. We dunked our heads underwater and splashed and kicked. Watch out, Michael Phelps… Owen just may be headed for an Olympic gold someday.

Florida2013-25

Florida2013-26

I also thought the vastness of the ocean would deter him from being so fearless. Not so. The child barreled towards the ocean and didn’t want to stop, even when the water was well over his head.

Florida2013-24

We fully enjoyed Florida’s steamy temps and even the unborn got in on the action.

977769_10151531195556731_979349426_o

To my surprise, I didn’t swell up in the heat (like last time I was pregnant in the summer, UGH SO GROSS) and my burgeoning belly didn’t hinder any of our fun in the sun. Perhaps more importantly, as someone who can pretty much get a blistering sunburn from walking around the block, I’m impressed that I came home pretty much the same pale color that I was when I left.

Florida2013-11

Owen loved doting on his playmate (our friends’ one year old daughter) and it made my heart swell to think about him playing with a sibling someday pretty soon.

Florida2013-5He even surprised me with how well he slept — it was our first trip using a big boy bed outside of our house. I was half-expecting midnight visits from him and was constantly worried that he was going to leave his room and open up the front door to the condo (which had a handle, not a knob, and was not able to be deadbolted), but he did great and stayed in his bed when he was supposed to. Aside from a few little attitude-y outbursts (hey, he is 3 after all), Owen was a joy.

And now, back to reality… a billion emails in my inbox and more work than I can possibly finish in a 3 day work week. Sigh.

4 responses to “She Says… Sand and Sun

  1. What a fun trip! You look awesome!! 🙂

  2. I love these pics– you look FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!

  3. LOVE the belly shot! You look GREAT!

  4. While I know that the other three commenters were women,I hope you won’t be embarrassed and/or offended by a comment from a guy.I just want to say that you look TOTALLY AWESOME in your little teeny weeny two-piece bikini and THANKS SO MUCH for sharing the pic!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

