She Says… The “D” Word

It’s been a week, friends. And I don’t mean that in a good way. And, coming off of last week, I was really in need of an easy, catch-up week.

I haven’t written much this week, because, well, my Mama taught me that if you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all. I’ve been so focused on just doing what I need to do to make it to the next day that I’ve barely had time to look up. I recently got a promotion at work, so in addition to my already very busy days, I am also now leading a team of new people. I’m navigating new responsibilities without being able to give up the old ones, and it’s been exhausting. A great opportunity, to be sure, but exhausting. On top of that, the marathon bombing craziness threw off my schedule and eliminated a few days of work due to building closings and lockdowns and a general lack of focus on anything but breaking news. I counted on this week to catch up and get myself back in order. But instead, Owen got sent home from school with a fever on Wednesday along with a note that said that several kids in his class have Hand, Foot & Mouth Syndrome, so to be on the lookout for that. LOVELY. Of course, as usual, this came on a day when I HAD to be at the office running a training program and delivering a 3 hour training presentation to a packed room. Stressful, to say the least. Not to mention that this all came on the heels of a period of Benjamin traveling more than he has been home, so I’ve been feeling… overwhelmed.

That would normally be enough to stress a person out out. Even a person whose stress threshold is usually quite high. But no, the last piece of complicating news came yesterday, right in the middle of my 3 hour presentation.

I have gestational diabetes.

Remember when I failed the gestational diabetes screening test a few weeks ago, and then had a weird hypoglycemic response to the 3 hour? Well, since I am at high risk for gestational diabetes due to having polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS), my doctor/midwife team wanted me to be tested twice. Once early (which I did around 23 weeks), and once at the “normal” time of 28 weeks, which is where I am now. They didn’t want to put me through the stress of doing the 3 hour test again since my body kind of freaked out the last time, so we opted to do a two hour test instead.

I took it Wednesday morning (trapped in the lab waiting room with spotty internet for 2 hours, feeling pukey, while I wanted/needed to be catching up on work…) and the results came back yesterday. High.

Given my weird history with this test and erratic blood sugar levels in general, they are classifying me as having glucose instability and treating me for GDM. That means finger pricks to check blood glucose levels before and after eating, following a strict diet and exercise routine, regularly seeing an endocrinologist and nutritionist until this baby makes his arrival, and increased monitoring of him prior to that point.

So… I’m here. But I don’t have anything nice to say, so I’m not saying much at all.

The silver lining? Owen’s fever stayed really low and hasn’t seemed to turn into Hand, Foot & Mouth or anything worse than a slightly elevated temp. He’s back at school this morning and my fingers are crossed that he stays there, healthy and happy, until the end of the day.

13 responses to “She Says… The “D” Word

  1. Well I will leave something nice in response. I was diagnosed with type 2 at 24 (which was finally revised to an adult onset type 1 at 34), and got pregnant with my daughter at 25. Both my pregnancy with her and her brother produced lovely, healthy babies, even with all of the additional monitoring, insulin shots, and stress that happened along the way. I know it seems like a lot now, but the end result is worth it. If I can help in any way, please let me know.

  2. Congratulations on the promotion! I got diagnosed with gestatinal diabetes with my second son at 34 weeks after previously passing 2 1 hour tests. It is like a kick in the gut even if you know you are high risk. The time will go by fast and in the end you will feel better physically from all the recommendations and will have a beautiful healthy boy! My son is so sweet I figure that’s why I had gestatinal diabetes.

  3. That is so interesting to me that you had the hypoglycemic response to your test. I got a 28 on my one hour when I was pregnant with Paisley so they decided not to do it again with Graham since I felt so horrendous and that number scared them so much. We instead did finger sticks with him and they were always borderline high and he was almost 9 pounds at 8 days early. So, it makes me think now that I probably had it with both kids especially since I have PCOS too. Interesting. Well, you will be fine and so will the baby. You already eat pretty healthy and at least you’ll get great monitoring. Sorry for the news though!

  4. Boo on the gestational diabetes – sorry to hear that. But I have faith that you’ll take it in stride – what’s one more diet restriction to a great cook like you who has had to adapt so many times already? 🙂
    Congrats on the promotion!

  5. I had gestational diabetes during my recent pregnancy (twins born in November 2012). Due to the twin factor, I was tested and diagnosed very early, at about 16 weeks. I just wanted to add my support and reassurance that you will be fine. It’s scary, but it will be okay. Also, there is a very helpful gestational diabetes group on Baby Center that you may have already discovered. I’m pretty internet shy, so I don’t really post on the group. But I still lurk, even 5 months postpartum, because the info is so good. Let me know if you want me to post the link. Best of luck. 🙂

  6. Wow what a week indeed! So much to say . . .
    Sorry to hear about the gestational diabetes. 😦 That sounds like a gigantic pain to deal with. I have no doubt you will manage it well, like always!
    Congratulations on the promotion! That is wonderful news!!! Hopefully all feels normal and comfortable soon (and you can ditch the old responsibilities so you aren’t doing double work!)
    Too bad about Owen, but glad to hear he is feeling better. I have never heard of Hand, Foot, and Mouth Syndrome before.
    When something like that happens and you HAVE to be at work, did Benjamin cover or do you have someone else “on call”. That is something I struggle with if my mom is sick and both of us have to work. Just wondering what others do!
    Hope you have a nice relaxing weekend – you deserve it!

  7. I’m so sorry for the bad news and the extra stress and worry it entails. It’s good they’re gonna keep a close eye on you, though.
    So glad Owen is feeling better! We had an episode of hand/foot/mouth and it was awful.

  8. Congrats on the promotion! At least that is a silver lining to the otherwise crappy few weeks you have been having. Isn’t it just Murphy’s Law that Owen gets sick when both you and your husband have to be at work? Been there myself.
    Stressful as it might be, the next few months will fly by; you and the baby will be just fine, I am sure of it. 🙂

  9. What a week indeed. I’m sorry to hear about the GD, but like all things, I have full faith that you will manage it with grace. And what wonderful news about the promotion, even if it is a bit stressful now. You are an amazing woman and soon you will look back at this time and it will be just a bump in the road.

  10. CONGRATS ON YOUR PROMOTION! Happy thoughts 🙂

  11. Well, shit. I’m sorry, hun. You’ve had quite a couple of weeks, haven’t you? Hang in there. And CONGRATS on the promotion!

  12. Thank you, everyone! A weekend full of sunshine was just what the doctor ordered, and I’m feeling much less whiny now. Thank you for your words of encouragement!

  13. I was very upset when diagnosed with GD too, but it ended but being no big deal at all. My best tip: a serving of Breyers vanilla ice cream (real ice cream, no low carb weirdness) is just 15 carbs. I paired it with a serving of chopped nuts or poured warmed pb on top–yum, yum!! I had it for a bedtime snack almost every night!

Leave a Reply

