She Says… Moo, Baa, La la la

(I’m assuming most of you caught the reference to the Sandra Boynton book title…)

I know we live right outside of Boston (in a pretty urban suburb, if there is such a thing), but I have a secret dream of running away to live on a farm. Though I love the convenience of the city and would likely regret my decision at some point, I love the thought of growing my own food and having barns full of animals and going to bed with dirt under my fingernails. Since we’re not leaving town anytime soon, I have to settle for the next best thing. Luckily, the next best thing is pretty awesome.

farm1

Owen and I took part in a super fun kids program at a local farm this past weekend. We got to do some “farm chores” with a farmer, learn a little bit about the farm, and then partake in a hearty farm breakfast. Not such a bad introduction to farm livin’, right?

farm3 farm4

First we opened up the chicken coop and let all of the chickens out for the day. They were corralled into a run/small field, but pretty much get free rein of the farm, as many of them hop over the fence. It was pretty cool to see them flood out of the coop when the farmer opened the door. Owen just stood there all chill, hands in his pockets, like it was no big thang to have chickens running right past his feet. He also observed that “they smell like poop!”. You got that right.

farm5

When they had fled the coop (err, some of them had), we ventured inside to feed them and collect eggs.

farm6 farm7

Owen was really brave and had no problem reaching right in by the chickens to collect the eggs. I have never done that before either and it was strangely exciting.

farm8 farm9 farm10

After egg collecting we took a little tour around the farm and checked out the other animals. There was a Mama Pig (clearly still nursing many of her piglets… just looking at her udders — are they called udders on a pig? — made my boobs hurt!) and a bunch of baby piglets.

farm11

The baby piglets also had free rein on the farm. It doesn’t get much cuter than watching your kid running around chasing a bunch of squealing piglets! I VERY much wanted to snag one of those little piggies to take home with me (which would have fulfilled a childhood dream of having a pet pig). Sigh.

farm12 farm13

The goats and sheep hung out together (and OMG the baby lambs and little goats with their horn nubbins were so precious). Owen was smitten with the “baby goatees”.

farm15 farm16

They also have rabbits. See that sign? It says “Bunnies For Sale $25”. I’m so glad Owen can’t read. Because I know I was dying to take one home and I’m not sure I could have resisted if he begged me. Benjamin would have KILLED me.

farm14

And a cow (who only showed us her butt, and that glorious pile of poop right next to Owen). It’s not a wonder Owen can’t stop talking about poop. It’s everywhere.

farm17

Strangely, Owen’s true love was the barn cat, Lucky. All he wanted to do was touch her.

farm18 farm19

I, on the other hand, would have much preferred a piglet or a goatee.

It was such a fun way to spend the morning and I very much hope to go back again soon. It was a giant leap towards raising a city boy with a country state of mind.

7 responses to “She Says… Moo, Baa, La la la

  1. Angie All The Way

    Looks like a fun outing!

  2. Love it! I have the same dreams of farm living!!!!
    Sigh. . .

  3. I remember once taking my kids to a farm where there was a Mama pig and a bunch of piglets. Mama rolled over on one and killed it. Kids permanently traumatized despite my efforts to say baby pig had just a little booboo. Now all three kids live in suburbs while DH and I continue to live in country.

    **sigh**

  4. The chickens had free reign? Were they good little rulers?

  5. Where is this farm? I live just north of Boston and would LOVE to do something like this with my son!

  6. @Anonymous, Ha! Oh no. I’m sorry. I know that’s not funny… but it’s a little funny.

    @Kara, Oops! Fixed.

    @Casey, I’ll email you the details.

  7. I love this post! Super awesome program! I want to go with Blaine! You really caught my eye at the end when you said “country state of mind” because my blog is called “country is a state of mind”; my goal is to raise my kid country in a community that becomes more and more suburban every year. We still raise chickens, pigs, and cows, but the majority of my students at my school (2 miles from my family’s farm) don’t even know what a silo is. I try to educate them as well ;).

Leave a Reply

