She Says… Bestill My Heart

It’s Valentine’s Day, y’all.

V-Day 2013-1

I told Owen it was “a day we tell our friends and family how much we love them”. He grabbed my cheeks, looked me right in the eyes and gushed, “I love you so much, Mommy”.

I’m done. That’s all I ever wanted for Valentine’s Day. Or any day, really.

V-Day 2013-2

Owen’s school has a cute tradition of celebrating this lovey dovey holiday by “Fancy Friendship Day”, which essentially means the kids dress up in fancy clothes and celebrate having each other as friends. It’s pretty much the sweetest thing ever.

V-Day 2013-3

The only problem, for us at least, is that Owen doesn’t have fancy clothes. The kid wears jeans and t-shirts every day. He’s comfortable. He usually comes home covered in paint anyway. I shop mostly at the consignment store. He is all boy. And, even if he was a girl, I think my philosophy would be generally the same (though, man, I saw some of the cutest little dresses ever the other day while I was shopping and I got a little giddy imagining if Baby #2 will ever wear them).

V-Day 2013-4

So, last night, in the final hour, I had just enough time to run to Target to see if I could find any accessories that could transform something in Owen’s wardrobe into something appropriate for Fancy Day. My heart just about melted when I saw this blazer. And, though the shelves were almost bare, this bowtie. Sold.

V-Day 2013-5

Oh, and to top off the specialness of this sweet holiday, I let Owen have half of a marshmallow Peep heart (one of my favorite [disgusting] holiday indulgences and also gluten free!), and made his lunch a little special too (heart-shaped polenta with feta cheese, heart-shaped cucumbers, red peppers and no-fake-stuff-added-hot dog).

vdaylunch

Happy Fancy Friendship Day, friends. Tell your friends and family how much you love them, today and every day.

10 responses to “She Says… Bestill My Heart

  1. Kate, you’re so awesome. Owen, you’re so cute.

  2. So adorable! You are so thoughtful to plan a special lunch too! How sweet!

  3. He looks so adorable. I was excited to see you used the word “y’all”!! 😉 Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. I die!!!!!!! That is all.

  5. Awwww, so sweet! What a cute lunch! Would you be able to post some of the lunches you pack for Owen one day? I am running low on ideas for my little one! Thanks!

  6. What is this lunch container? It’s perfect for toddler lunches! Please link!!

  7. PS…Angie All The Way…how are you doing? I miss reading your blog!

  8. Hey family,
    Tell Owen he looks fantastic on Happy Fancy Friendship Day. So glad to see him opening that pretty red envelope. He certainly is one of my special Valentines! Maybe some of those fancy cute (but of course strong, hardy) frilly dresses might be in your future. We’ll see… Love, Rah Rah

  9. @Jen, I could definitely post some lunch ideas! We pack a lunch very much like this every day for school (uhh, minus the cutesy cookie cutter shapes… no time for that!). I haven’t written about them before because I think writing about it may either 1) come across as preachy/annoying, since I have a lot of opinions about food and what I feed my family or 2) elicit nasty comments about what I do feed my kid (believe me, I’ve seen some incredibly critical comments on other food blogs) that I don’t really want to hear. I’ll see if I can get a week of lunch photographs or something like that to start a discussion about it, though!

    @Karen, YES, I love these lunch containers. We have 3 or 4 that we rotate, since we send Owen in to school with breakfast and lunch. They are called LunchBots (http://astore.amazon.com/thplisnoaho-20/detail/B006T5BLNU). They are a little pricey, so we bought them one by one to make sure we liked the various compartments. We also got a few reusable snack sized zipper bags for snack and use very little plastic for Owen’s lunches now, which I love.

  10. Kate, thanks for responding and offering to post some lunch ideas! I didn’t even consider that people would have negative feedback or be critical of what you feed your family. I definitely would not consider it preachy or annoying, just helpful and informative. Maya’s current day care provides meals, but starting in June, we will have to provide the meals. I put a ton of pressure on myself to provide healthy and balanced meals, since I am a dietitian, and I am always looking for ideas for more variety!
    Jen

Leave a Reply

