She Says… No More Monkeys Jumpin’ on the Bed

This is Owen’s new favorite game.

 

The Rules:
– It is ONLY to be played while wearing pajamas and holding a particular stuffed monkey

– It is ONLY to be played while listening to Vanessa Trien’s version of “No More Monkeys Jumpin’ on the Bed” (on this CD).

– No matter how violently he throws himself against the couch or onto the floor, it’s still funny

– The song MUST be listened to at least 2 or 3 times in a row, with no interruptions

 

I’m not going to lie, I think it’s hilarious. Benjamin came in while we were playing and was all, “He’s going to hurt himself! He shouldn’t do that! Be careful!”. But I’m appreciating that this game requires relatively little from me, occupies Owen for at least a few minutes at a time, and completely tires him out. Win, win.

You know, except for the inevitable concussion.

Owen has made up several “games” to several different songs on this CD. We set up chairs like a car and do hand motions to the “Driving in the Car” song. He plays certain instruments with other songs. Who knew listening to a CD could be an entire morning’s worth of activities?

5 responses to “She Says… No More Monkeys Jumpin’ on the Bed

  1. When Owen is a little older and can sit still longer, there’s a cute 5 Little Monkeys board game (a favorite of my 3-year-old) where you pantomime getting ready for bed and which has a bed and monkeys that pop up into the air when you press a button.

    However, Owen’s version is more adorable! 🙂

  2. When we moved our daughter from a crib to a bed, we just bought a full sized matress and put it on the floor because we knew jumping would occur. Best decision ever.

  3. I heard the most hilarious reggae version of the “No More Monkeys” song on Pandora the other day. Love it!

  4. @Julie, That sounds so cute! I look forward to the day he can sit still long enough to play a board game 🙂

    @Liz M., YES. Good call. I’m not sure Owen will ever sleep when he realizes big boy beds are awesome for jumping.

    @elizabeth, I love that version!!!

  5. Something similar goes on at our house, but I was *mortified* when my oldest decided to do it at our first visit at new friend’s house. I later decided if we don’t get invited back it is for the best!

Leave a comment