She Says… VOTE

I used to be someone who abstained entirely from all political conversation. I didn’t know enough to argue about it, and, to be honest, I didn’t even really care enough to make the time to learn. Frankly there was so much lying and false information (both from political candidates and those who argued for/against them) flying around that I pretty much just threw up my hands and said “I’m done” before I ever even started. It was so much easier to just… ignore it all.

In the last few years, though, I have become more and more involved in these discussions and more and more inspired to learn. I still hesitate to engage in political arguments (and keep it off the blog entirely), as I am a firm believer in “You believe what you believe and I’ll believe what I believe and we’ll just agree to disagree”. I’m not someone who’s going to argue you into the ground until you agree with me.

But this year, this election, I have felt like becoming one of these people. There are big, big things at stake. Perhaps there always are, but I feel the power of this election more deeply than ever before. Tonight I’ll be glued to the television watching those numbers come in. There is a lot riding on these results (which I realize we might not get for a few more days or even weeks if the race is very close).

Maybe it’s the fact that I think about how the world that Owen grows up in could be very different than the one we live in today, for better or for worse, depending on who is elected. Or maybe it’s that I’m getting old and opinionated. Either way, I’m voting today.

And you should too.

2 responses to “She Says… VOTE

  1. I feel the exact same way! We voted 2 weeks ago. I can’t wait to find out the results even on our local amendments we had to vote on. I think it’s because I’m getting old haha

  2. @Erica, It was an exciting night, for sure!!!

Leave a Reply

