She Says… Like Father, Like Son

Yard work has just gotten a lot easier at our house. We used to try to squeeze it in during Owen’s naptime because it was too hard to entertain/corral him while he was awake. But what we realized recently is that involving him works even better!

He will follow Benjamin around with his tiny lawnmower all day, if that’s how long it took. In fact, the child (bless his little heart) is obsessed with lawnmowers. He loves to put his ear to his ear when he hears one (anywhere, even miles away) and exclaims, “Yissen! A lawnmower! See it?”.

Last Christmas I happened to see a little bubble-blowing lawnmower on sale and decided to snatch it up as a backyard toy. I had NO IDEA it would become Owen’s favorite thing to do, bar none.

20120606-132813.jpg

20120606-132911.jpg

Sometimes Owen will wake up from a nap with a huge smile on his face and start babbling, “Daddy BIG lawnmower, Owen TINY lawnmower! Daddy Owen mow lawn ‘GETHER.”

20120606-132859.jpg

20120606-132924.jpg

It’s brilliant, actually. The lawn gets mowed, Owen is happy, the dog gets exercise staying out of the way (he’s terrified of the lawnmower) and I get to make dinner on the grill. That’s a summer tradition I can get behind.

I wonder how long this will last?

Look at the little Daddy wanna-be in action (excuse the standard definition video — it was a spur-of-the-moment iPhone catch and I don’t have Wifi right now to upload in HD):

8 responses to “She Says… Like Father, Like Son

  1. Oh goodness. How adorable is that? Right now my little boy is still unsure of the grass. I can only hope that one day he’ll be mowing with daddy.

  2. OMG that’s INSANELY adorable!

  3. Haha the gloves!!! Too cute – he’s such a little helper!!! :)

  4. @Sarah, Owen used to be the same way! He would curl his toes up and reach for me when I put him down without a blanket. He’ll grow out of it, I’m sure :)

  5. We have the same lawn mower and I agree it is lots of fun and cute daddy and me bonding time

  6. so cute! i reallllly love the garden gloves pic! mowing is popular around here too and blaine goes to get earplugs even to use the fake mower! HA!

  7. Oh my goodness the garden gloves are so cute!

  8. The gloves kill me. He’s such a cutie, and I love how earnest and eager he is about the yard work!

Leave a Reply

