She Says… Fenway Park

Yesterday was a big day. I snuck out of work at lunch time to head to Fenway Park for a sound check to sing the National Anthem.

Empty park + microphones + 5 voices = goosebump-worthy.

20120503-094919.jpg

The space is so special. I don’t follow baseball very closely, but just being in the park is enough to make my stomach flutter. Singing there was on a different scale entirely. SO. AMAZING.

20120503-094942.jpg

The first time we sang through the anthem, we, uhh, sucked. We were all so blown away by the space and the echo and the sounds and the fact that we were going to be singing in front of 38,000 people. The second time we sang it we got our heads in the game, though, and figured out how to manage the distractions.

 

20120503-095027.jpg

Right after we sound-checked, Dustin Pedroia and his son wandered out onto the field to blow bubbles and toss a baseball around. How adorable!

20120503-095103.jpg

I went to back to work and tried to concentrate for the rest of the afternoon. Mildly successful. Then when we arrived at the park in the evening we were allowed to warm up and wait in the locker room. It felt so sneaky to be down in the basement of the park where only the players usually get to go.

20120503-095127.jpg

20120503-095143.jpg

20120503-095212.jpg

Ready…

20120503-095300.jpg

Set…

20120503-095310.jpg

Go!

Benjamin even got down on the field to take a video.

It felt amazing. It was FREEZING cold and the echo was majorly distracting, but I think we rocked it (if I do say so myself). We were all just happy to have remembered the words.

It went by in a flash (they require you to keep it to 90 seconds or less… so no overly dramatic, drawn out Christina Aguilera-style renditions!) and before I knew it we were celebrating with beers and Fenway franks.

20120503-095329.jpg

Awesome night.

23 responses to “She Says… Fenway Park

  1. That is so cool! I’m a Boston native and huge Sox fan, so I’m insanely jealous. (unfortunately, I am a horrible singer, so…) You guys sounded amazing!

  2. AHH!! Yay! Congrats! That looked like you guys had so much fun! What an amazing experience!

  3. Awesome!

  4. How fun & exciting! You all sounded fabulous – I loved it ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. How cool is that?! You guys did a wonderful job! And I’m totally cracking up the picture with the hotdogs!

  6. Goosebumps!!!! Yayyyyy! Awesome job! Love the footage to capture all of your excitement too ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. That is so neat! You all did an amazing job and what a awesome experience you got to have!! I love that you have such a great video of it too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. soooooooooooooooo awesome!!

  9. PhaseThreeOfLife

    This is So. Freaking. Cool. So happy for you that you got to experience this!

  10. Beautiful! I got goosebumps and tears! I am blaming the tears on the pregnancy hormones.

  11. So beautiful…gave me chills!

  12. Oooh that was amazing!! Totally got the chills going ๐Ÿ™‚ Can you imagine how neat that will be to be able to tell Owen when he’s older and can fully appreciate it?

  13. Totally awesome!!! You guys are great!

  14. Goosebumps!!!! and I’m not even American! LOL ๐Ÿ™‚ Great job you guys!

  15. That sounded awesome! Good job, you guys ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. You were amazing!

  17. Now, that’s a memory of a lifetime!

  18. Whoa, that’s amazing!! I got a little teary there at the end when the crowd went crazy! You guys sounded great.

  19. How fun! I’m still a little upset that there was no streaker to make this an viral video ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Amazing!!! Well done!

  21. Thanks so much, everyone! It was such a special night.

  22. This gave me the goosebumps . . . and I am Canadian. It’s not even my national anthem. Great job!

  23. Wow, what a beautiful version of your anthem that is! I am also singing a-cappella with four friends, but not (yet) in public. The video made me want to get together and sing with them right now.

Leave a Reply

