Daily Archives: April 25, 2012

She Says… Foiled Again

Guess what I forgot to do yesterday EVEN THOUGH I BLOGGED ABOUT NEEDING TO DO IT?

Yep, the wipers. The sun shined and work gobbled me up (seriously — I think I lost myself to the email abyss for a good portion of the day yesterday) and all of a sudden ding! it was time to pick Owen up from daycare and I hadn’t finished a darn thing on my To Do list. Or showered. Thank goodness for working from home. So I walked to pick up Owen and to give the dog a walk (does that count as checking something off my list?) and added the wipers AND the car inspection to tomorrow’s today’s list.

Oh, this week just might get the best of me.

Yesterday was Benjamin’s birthday. On Monday he was 32 and yesterday bam! he turned 33 and we didn’t exchange much more than a few text messages until after dinner. He was traveling, and working, and I was, well, in the eye of a work hurricane and holding down the fort. C’est la vie.

Usually I am a BIG birthday person. I love buying presents and decorating the house and baking treats. I love cards and planning parties and gathering friends. This time, though, things just didn’t come together.

And you know what?

It’s ok.

It’s totally ok.

We will celebrate another time with a nice date and a bottle of wine. We’ll get together with friends another night for another occasion and it will be just as fun. We’ll make it through this crazy time and then things will calm down and then, inevitably, they will pick back up again. Because that’s life. It’s the crazy life we’ve chosen and I know neither one of us would have it any other way.

As if this pace wasn’t fast enough, I am running a training event at work on Thursday and Friday, a friend of mine is staying with us this weekend, my little sister and her boyfriend are staying with us next weekend and zing! I just found out YESTERDAY that I’m going to be singing the National Anthem at Fenway Park NEXT WEDNESDAY.

Isn’t that cool?!

I have written before about how I sang in an a cappella group in college and how some of the girls who ended up in Boston and I still get together to sing once in awhile. Sometimes we rehearse once a week and actually have “gigs” (usually during the holiday season singing for soup kitchens and children’s hospitals or holiday parties), other times we get together once a month for potluck dinners and wine with lots of talking and very little singing going on. Anyway, last summer when we were getting together regularly, we sent in an audition tape to Fenway Park on a whim… and voila! It’s super exciting, except that we’ve all been so busy that we haven’t had much time to get together and have been cancelling “rehearsals” left and right for the last few months, so now we have to carve out some time to get together and actually SING before we do it in front of thousands of people.

Next week.

Yeah. My schedule just got a little busier.