She Says… Rain Drops on Dump Trucks

It just rained for 2 1/2 days straight here. We needed the rain, so when it finally came, I was all yay rain! But then it just kept coming. And we couldn’t go for walks with the dog, or to the playground. I didn’t even want to go out in the car because I hate driving in the rain AND my car has one broken windshield wiper.

Side note: That wiper (thankfully the one on the passenger side and not the driver’s side) has been broken for awhile. In fact, it happened when a big ice chunk slid down onto the wipers (which was clearly months ago, since it hasn’t snowed in a LONG time) and instead of scraping it off with a scraper, I just kept running the wipers, hoping they would push the ice away. I either burned out the motor or bent the wiper. Still don’t know which. All I know it is just won’t move. I just never think of it at the right time. I only think of it when I get in the car and it’s raining. And then I don’t have time to go get it fixed. You know? And then as soon as I get home from my errands I’m onto the next thing and don’tchaknowit I forget all about that darn wiper. The other day Benjamin used my car and noticed that it was overdue for an inspection (oops!). And it’s not going to pass inspection with only one working wiper, so now I have TWO errands to run this week, in addition to the usual work slash daycare rigamaroll.

So now you know that although I have many spheres of my life working in perfect harmony, taking care of my car is my Achilles heel. It’s always on the bottom of the list. I even run my car on fumes because I hate stopping to get gas so much. I much prefer to walk everywhere and pretend that I don’t even have a car. Ignorance is bliss for me in that arena, my friends.

As I was saying, the rain resulted in a long weekend. I always have “long” weekends since I don’t work Mondays, but this one felt longer than normal. Benjamin traveled for the bulk of last week, then he was home for two days, and he’s traveling several days this week as well (no, I won’t tell you which ones, in case you are a creepy person thinking of trying to break into my house while my big scary husband is out of town).

Props to the single parents who do this all the time, ’cause damn. Even when Owen is as perfect as a 2 year old can be, it’s still long. Not to mention the fact that since I am adamant about putting away my phone and computer when I’m with Owen and I try to work out during afternoon nap time, when I put him to bed at night I have to face hundreds of emails and some missed phone calls and a day of social media. While I do the dishes and eat something. Oh, and find 5 minutes to sit on the couch, put my feet up and watch some trashy tv so my brain can rest. That’s important too.

Yesterday since we couldn’t go to the playground and I didn’t want to push my luck by trying to get Owen to be still and sit in carts all day running errands, we used our good ol’ neighborhood Barnes & Noble as an indoor playground. Whaddaya know, it was a really awesome way to kill the afternoon while the rain poured down! We read every. single. book. about cars, trucks, buses, fire engines and dump trucks. A million times. Twice. He ran through the aisles and pointed out things he saw on book covers and sat in the window seat and watched cars in the parking lot.

Despite feeling a little worn out, we had a ton of fun together. The kid is a blast to hang out with.

This morning he woke up at 4:55am wailing for “meh-sin” (medicine). He’s been suffering through the 2 year molars for a few weeks now, so I’m hopeful that we’re nearing the end of the it. Then that’s the end of the teeth for awhile, right? RIGHT?!

Phew! The sun is shining now, we walked to daycare this morning and I’m at my desk ready to start my work week. Still buried in emails from the weekend, but hey, it was worth it. Long, but worth it.

8 responses to “She Says… Rain Drops on Dump Trucks

  1. Kate, sometimes the wiper just gets loose. It could have just come unscrewed and is disconnected. This happened to me (I also tried to push ice) and it was a quick fix for my mechanic. I hope that’s all it is! πŸ™‚

  2. i feel super lucky to have a mechanical engineer partner who knows a lot about cars/is willing and able to easily learn what he doesn’t know (i am constantly amazed at all the how to videos on youtube for pretty much anything you might need to do on your car). i am pretty much just like you! i haven’t had my vehicle for that long but i know almost nothing and am not that interested to learn. i can stay on top of the gas situation and i can keep an eye on the temperature gauge/listen for weird noises/report any lights that come on, but other than that, it is definitely jon’s area of responsibility to manage and care for.

  3. I always tell my husband that when the kid starts asking for medicine, that’s a good sign that she’s too attached to the sugary berry flavored Motrin. πŸ™‚

    I don’t take care of my car either. I thought that what husbands are for? Mine even fills mine up if it’s low and he notices. πŸ™‚

  4. It makes me feel better hearing that you feel exhausted too. I’ve had a few days recently when I had to get both girls up and out in the morning as opposed to just Lilly (Jesse usually takes Chloe) and I am exhausted and drenched in sweat by the time I get them to school … and then I have to work. It’s also ok to feel tired … even if they are fun to hang out with … you are still human. That’s what I keep telling myself anyway!!!

  5. Eeks I’ve had some of those long weekends too without daddy around and seriously, how do single parents do it?! It rained a bit a few days ago here and we end up going to the library or the mall for indoor things to do. After a while though even those places get tiring :/ Hope your weather brightens up soon!

  6. I have anxiety reading your post. Sounds like fun/stressful/tiring and exciting all in one!

    Go get your car inspected and wipers fixed. It will be one great thing checked off the to do list!

  7. Kara just wrote a blog post about you. πŸ™‚

  8. therapeuticbaking

    What a relief to read this post. Getting my son to sleep these days has been a battle which is usually never the case unless he’s sick or…teething! Here I thought I had another few months reprieve from his 2nd year molars but if Owen is dealing with them now I suspect my son is too.

    I love bookstores and the chain here in Canada has a wonderful children’s section with a few toys they can play with too. My son, of course, has no interest in either the toys or the books. All “E” wants to do is hang out by the door and press the automatic door opener buttons!!! One rainy day we went to Chapters and I let him do this until we got a dirty look from one of the fellow customers.

    It’s day 2 of the rain here in Ottawa and so I pulled out the paints for the first time for “E”. What a disaster. My son is not ready for painting and I learned this the hard way. He was either trying to eat the paint off of the brushes or drink the rinse water for the brushes. We are obviously not out of the “put everything in my mouth” phase of toddlerhood.

    Another idea for a rainy day…my mother gave me this rain suit which I have yet to try with “E”:
    http://www.activebaby.ca/tuffo-muddy-buddy-coveralls-yellow-p-462.html?cPath=100_262

    I thought it would be fun for him to go outside in it and burn off some of his energy despite the wet and yucky weather.

Leave a Reply

