She Says… Birthday Celebration

29 years ago today, my mom saw my face for the first time. Man, now that I know what it feels like to look down at your own baby on their very first birthday, as they take their very first gulps of air, celebrating a birthday takes on quite a different meaning. I wonder what my mom was feeling at that moment. During that blizzard in 1983. Big brother and big sister waiting at home to meet the newest member of their family. Our family.

Flash forward to today and it’s sunny, unseasonably warm and without a threat of snow in the sky. Hello, global warming. I’m typing away at my computer, at work. I have a house and a car and a dog and a family of my very own. Funny how that happens. I guess that’s what babies do, huh? They grow up.

Anyway, on to the celebration part of this post. Guess what we’re going to do this weekend? Benjamin and I are going to spend our first night away from Owen together.

Sure, we’ve each done our fair share of traveling, but we did it knowing that the person staying at home with Owen was his other parent. Everything about his routine stayed the same. No disruptions. Every trip went smoothly.

To be honest I’m not sure I’ll ever feel completely ready for Benjamin and I to leave Owen at the same time, so after some encouragement from my other half, I agreed to give it a go. Like ripping off a band-aid. Grammy and Grampy (one set of Benjamin’s parents) agreed to come and stay at our house. I thought that, at least for this first time with both of us away, that keeping Owen at home would be best. Baby steps, people. I am sure they will have a blast while we are gone. They adore Owen and he adores them. They know how to change diapers and put him to bed and, frankly, his routine is so ingrained in him at this point that he could probably tell them exactly what they need to do. That’s wildly different than when he was a newborn and I felt like I was the only person in the world who knew just how to do everything.

So we’re going to go. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I can stop myself from making a million lists and writing instructions and labeling food and blah blah blah. But at least now I realize that every little direction might not be followed exactly, and that’s totally ok. And I’m nervous about the sound of Owen’s cough today and the fact that his temp has been slightly elevated and when he doesn’t feel well all he wants to do it be held by me. But they know how to do breathing treatments and can take his temp and I can guarantee it’s NOT the first time either of them has cuddled a sick little boy. It’s going to be just fine.

So where are we going? To the Ritz! A few weeks ago I ran a training for work at the Ritz and they overbooked the hotel since our group was so large. Instead of making one of our employees change hotels, I offered to do it. In exchange, they gave me a voucher for a free night’s stay! Woo hoo! Free night at the Ritz, here we come. We’ve planned a lovely dinner with friends at a beautiful restaurant on the waterfront. Then we’re going to get drinks at a very cool bar I’ve been wanting to go to. Then we’ll head back to the Ritz for a wonderful night’s sleep on their amazing beds. Breakfast in bed in the morning, and then back to see my (hopefully not still sick) little guy. Now THAT’S a happy birthday.

Now everyone please keep your fingers crossed that his cough doesn’t get any worse and he’s feeling all better for a fun day and night with Grammy and Grampy!

13 responses to “She Says… Birthday Celebration

  1. Have a most wonderful birthday, Kate!! And the celebration at the Ritz sounds divine–enjoy!! I’m so jealous you have family close enough to babysit overnight. We’re fine with the occasional date night because we have a sitter (one of Maya’s daycare teachers) but we definitely aren’t ready to leave her overnight yet … I know if we had family nearby it would be different, but on each side they are 1,000 and 2,000 miles away. 😦 Anyway, enjoy your night away and hope Owen feels better!

  2. Wow!! A birthday at the Ritz! Sounds amazing. We left Lyle with his grandparents for our anniversary (he was only 4 months old!) to spend a night in the city. It was so amazing and so worth it to spend some quality time with my husband. Happy birthday!

  3. Have a most wonderful birthday, Kate!! And the celebration at the Ritz sounds divine–enjoy!! I’m so jealous you have family close enough to babysit overnight. We’re fine with the occasional date night because we have a sitter (one of Maya’s daycare teachers) but we definitely aren’t ready to leave her overnight yet … I know if we had family nearby it would be different, but on each side they are 1,000 and 2,000 miles away. 😦 Anyway, enjoy your night away and hope Owen feels better!

  4. Grammy and Grampy can’t wait! Happy Birthday, Kate!

  5. Spectacular! Have a great night. We left the kids for the first time at about 11 months, in the hands of my sister-in-law and her boyfriend. They already knew the kids super well, and came and stayed at our house. I probably left a six-page packet of instructions and routines and schedules, but they didn’t seem to mind too much.

    IT WAS SPECTACULAR. Oh, to be able to breathe… it’s wonderful. I strongly encourage that the next outing be soon and LONGER. We went for a whole weekend and it was amazing.

    Fair warning: at this age, Owen will do wonderfully with his grandparents and you will hear nothing but glowing reports. And then he will probably punish you for a few days after you get home. Clingy, whiny, generally weird. Not the end of the world, just be prepared for it and know that it’s totally normal. They do grow out of it – my big kids no longer give us the cold shoulder after a day or two away.

  6. Happy Birthday Kate! Enjoy your celebration! I bet Owen will love having two new playmates for the night.

  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! enjoy the night away! 🙂 we’ve never been away from blaine either but are going away for 4 nights very soon. pretty scared [for the babysitters’ sake, hehe]!!

  8. garden1812Megan

    Happy Birthday, Kate!!!! Enjoy your weekend!!!!

  9. Happy birthday!!

    My husband and I did our first joint night away for my 50 mile race weekend. I was so worried about the race that I was strangely calm about leaving the kid in grandma’s hands. 🙂

  10. Happy birthday! I hope you have a great weekend 🙂 We just had our first joint night away from Elle about two weeks ago – it was helpful that we were only like 15 minutes away and we left her with my mom. It made it much easier to be away, and we had a great time (and got to wake up on our own terms for the first time in over a year!). Enjoy your birthday celebration!

  11. Happy birthday! Hope you have a great time away 🙂

  12. Happy birthday! Have a great time!

  13. Happy Birthday, Honey!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

