She Says… Pucker Up!

For the last few months, Owen has sweetly obliged when we’ve said, “Can we have a kiss?”. He demurely offers his forehead to be kissed, like the queen offering the back of her hand. But the other night while I was drying him off after his bath and cuddling his warm body wrapped in his hooded froggy towel, I said, “Kiss!” and planted one square on his lips.

He giggled and said, “Mo! Mo!” while doing the sign language for “more”. More kisses, please!

I kissed him again. He squealed with delight.

Now it has become part of our nightly ritual. Big, fat kisses. Usually he presses his lips together so they make a straight line and then smooshes his face right into mine. It’s really more like a head butt or like he’s trying to give me a fat lip. Sometimes he opens his mouth for a wet, sloppy one. Often he grabs his tiny arms around my neck or squarely on my cheeks and holds my head down so the kisses don’t stop.

I know someday he will regret that I told the internet about this, but Owen loves kissing his mommy on the lips.

Oh, did I mention how much I love kissing him too? Because I do. More than I ever thought possible.

As of now, I’m the only one who has been on the receiving end of these sweet little gifts. Daddy still gets the forehead. It’s our special little thing.

5 responses to “She Says… Pucker Up!

  1. We don’t get to give the baby any kisses, she gives them to us and it involves a lot of drool. I also don’t do lip kissing with the kid because it oogs me out, but different strokes for different folks. 🙂

  2. Gosh, I love baby kisses! Kisses on those tiny baby lips are especially sweet. AmĂ©lie also usually offers her forehead, so it’s extra special when she puckers up.

  3. What a sweet little boy you have. All we get at the moment are the wet sloppy ones, not that I’m complaining 🙂

  4. Olivia will only ever kiss the pretend llama I make with my hand and every other person in the known world but me. I have to steal my kisses, and I gladly do so…often. She only pretends to dislike it. (On another note, she also wont say “Mama”. She says over a dozen understandable words, but will not say “Mama” for the life of her!) Owen is such a darling little boy. 🙂

  5. I’m sorry but ewwwww 🙂
    When did kissing ones child on the lips become socially acceptable? I would take marrying ones cousin any day over kissing ones child.
    I hope you don’t get offended by my comment.

Leave a Reply

