She Says… Fun

When Owen was little, I used to think it was “fun” to “play” with him. I put both of those things in quotes because anyone with a young baby knows that tummy time is not usually very fun, even if your kid likes tummy time. And playing with Owen used to be making him giggle while he sat in his Bumbo chair, or dangling toys in front of him so he would grab them. It was a lot of me doing things to Owen and calling it fun.

But these days, playing with Owen is actually fun. The boy is hilarious. He is silly. He knows how to get a laugh, and he LOVES performing for a crowd. Or for Mama. Whoever will watch him, really. (Gee, I have NO IDEA where he gets that…). He makes up little games and wants to play them over and over again. He hides in a corner or a small space and giggles incontrollably when he pops out and “surprises” me. He will start to hand me a toy and then take it back at the last second and laugh and laugh because he “fooled” me. He will repeat a noise/action combo about a million times as long as it’s making someone laugh. Usually me. He likes to put on his bike helmet and asks to ride his bike (which is really me pushing him while he holds his feet up in the air, since he can’t reach the pedals yet).

He is beginning to pretend, too, which I find incredibly adorable. He pushes water bottles and travel mugs into my face so that I pretend to sip on them and then he exclaims, “NUMMY! CACKEE!” Yummy. Coffee. He still carries the swiffer around the kitchen (like he used to) and pretends to clean. Recently he’s been demanding “UP!” whenever I’m cooking so he can watch what I’m doing. On our Christmas list to encourage and nurture this kind of dramatic play: a play kitchen and a baby doll.

Although it’s hard to capture these games on camera (this is not the most scintillating video!), you can see a little bit of his goofy personality here.

9 responses to “She Says… Fun

  1. That looks like an amazing closet!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. My kid is also a huge fan of pretending to hand me something and then pulling it back at the last moment. Such a comedian. ๐Ÿ™‚ I also play “pony” for her a lot and she really likes steering me by my hair. She also enjoys hiding my things, which explains why I never answer my cell phone on the first call.

    Toddlers are so entertaining. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Now that is playing! Will is at the roll around and grab things “playing” type stage, but I can tell he’s starting to make those connections for real play right now. It’s so amazing to see their growth. Owen looks like such a big boy at points in the video!

  4. Oh, and it gets even more fun! My son is three years old tomorrow (!!!) and playing with him is completely exhausting and completely wonderful. He has SO much to say that just having a conversation is a good time. He is starting to remind me, though, that he’s a big boy and often says, “I play by my big self, Mom,” which kind of bums me out sometimes (though sometimes it’s really helpful!) Luckily, I have his little brother, my little four month old, who really enjoys playing with mommy! Enjoy this time — it goes way too fast! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. This makes me want a little boy so much. They are just too much fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Am I the only one who picked up on a “baby doll” being on the Christmas list? Is there any news to share? ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. @Kate, Ha! I didn’t even think of the baby doll as “practice”. No, no news to share. Not trying yet. We have a plan, and it doesn’t involve trying for awhile longer. The baby doll is really just about dramatic play! That would have been a VERY sneaky announcement ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. My 13 month old is obsessed with being picked up so she can watch me cook. She knows that when something is hot she and I blow on it. So she sits on my hip blowing her little heart at as the steam rises from whatever I’m cooking! I totally agree on the getting more fun aspect! I always say I love this stage then I get to the next one and I love it even more! I’m expecting again and I’m also excited to relive the cuddly newborn days though!

  9. He’s growing up too fast!!

Leave a Reply

