She Says… Curry in a Hurry

I am obsessed with recipes. I have binders and binders full of pages torn from Cooking Light and Bon Appetit and Eating Well. I have an entire cabinet dedicated to cookbooks. I have an online program that helps me organize my online recipes. I pin recipes on Pinterest.

Since I have so many recipes at my fingertips, I tend to get lost in them. I flip through the binders and fold down pages in cookbooks and search on the internet so much that often I end up not being able to find a recipe I remember seeing somewhere along the line. Compound that with my inability to a) stick exactly to any recipe (I always change something) and b) make the same thing twice (I rarely, if ever, make the same thing twice — which is frustrating for Benjamin who says things like, “This is delicious! We should make this again”), and you have a recipe for frustration. Get it? A recipe?

We often have conversations like, “What should we make for dinner this week?” “Hmmm, how about that yummy thing you made a few weeks ago.” “Which one?” “The one with the chicken. And that sauce. Mmmm.” Which starts me searching back in my memory and beginning the search through cookbooks and binders all over again.

I make meal plans most weeks (and write them down), but that still doesn’t help the problem of finding which recipe I actually used, or how I actually changed the recipe to make it so awesome 🙂 I started that “What We’re Eating” section of the blog to keep track of things for awhile, but as you know, I quickly fell off the wagon because taking pictures of food takes a long time, and writing down recipes takes even longer. And once Owen goes to bed, that time belongs to me and Benjamin… not me and the computer or camera. Which is how I would like it to stay.

Anyway, that looooooooong, wordy introduction was all to say that I made something yummy the other night. And I actually wrote it down. And, bonus, it was made in the slow cooker, so all I had to do was chop some stuff and throw it in the pot in the morning, and a delicious dinner was on the table at night. This particular night I actually had a PTA meeting at daycare (yes, there are PTA’s in our daycare, and why yes, of course I volunteered), and we had friends over for dinner, so it was totally perfect because they had apps and drinks while I was at the PTA meeting, and then we all sat down to a hot meal as soon as I walked in the door.

Note: The title of this post is wildly inaccurate, since the curry took about 7 hours to cook… but it felt like a hurry since I didn’t have to do anything to it after lunch time.

If you don’t have a slow cooker, you could totally make this in a dutch oven or any big pot with a lid simmering on the stove on low for a few hours too. I like to chop everything about the same size but leave them chunky (1″ pieces, maybe?). You could also put everything except the coconut milk in a freezer bag and toss into your freezer for a rainy day. Then you could pull it out, thaw it enough to squeeze it in the slow cooker, pour a can of coconut milk on top and cook for 8 hours.

Slow Cooker Curried Chicken with Mango & Coconut Milk

1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped
4 carrots, peeled and chopped
1 zucchini, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbs. ginger, minced
1 tbs. chili paste/red curry paste
2 tbs. curry powder
2 tbs. cumin
1 cup mango, cubed (I used frozen)
1 onion, chopped (I used frozen)
1 cube of chicken bouillon
2 tbs. all purpose flour
1.2 pounds chicken, cut into 1″ cubes (I used tenders and then just cut them into chunks)
1 can coconut milk (I used full fat)

Chop everything except the coconut milk and toss it in the slow cooker. Stir it around so everything is coated with the seasonings. Pour the coconut milk over top (there will be a layer of “cream”, just stir that around so it is distributed… don’t worry, it will melt). Cook on low for 4-5 hours or high for 7-8 hours. My slow cooker only has 1 setting and I cooked it for 7 hours and it was perfect.

Try it! Don’t lose the recipe, like me. Enjoy.

What’s your favorite slow cooker recipe?

18 responses to “She Says… Curry in a Hurry

  1. That sounds amazing! I think I’ll give it a try and use a few more veggies and leave out the chicken (I’m a vegetarian). What online program do you use to manage your recipes? I’ve been copying mine into OneNote for now, and it works pretty well, but I’m open to a better option too!

  2. I’m not so good at meal planning and cooking, but since it would be neglectful to offer my toddler Ramen as often as my husband and I are forced to eat it, I’m trying to get better. Is your on-line site something you could/would share? I’m always interested in easy recipes. Also, this is probably a pretty dense cooking question, but do you put in the chicken when raw? Thanks!

  3. Also, was Owen able to eat this or was it too spicy with the chili paste? We love spicy, but I also love making one meal that will please all.

  4. I too, adore cooking (and baking) so I really appreciate this recipe…thank you! My favourite slow cooker recipe is one I have made over and over recently–saucy pulled pork served on buns with a tangy coleslaw. It’s amazing. I’m not a big “pork person” and I love, love, love it.

    http://www.canadianliving.com/food/slow_cooker_pulled_pork.php
    http://www.canadianliving.com/food/tangy_coleslaw.php

    I’ve been trying to compile a list of what I like to call “mommy meals”: meals that are tasty but don’t take ages to make. With a busy toddler on my hands, I’ve come to realize (sadly) that don’t have the time I used to in the kitchen. I hope to get back and blogging soon with a post on that. Kate, I have to say I’m so impressed how you are able to maintain your blog and have time for everything else. How do you do it?

  5. @Annie, I got a program called iGourmet or iSomething… to be honest it is clunky, can only be installed on one computer, and didn’t turn out to be the silver bullet I was looking for to organize my online recipes, so I kind of gave up. My paper system plus saving recipes in my gmail (where they are searchable) seems to work best for now. But I would pay a lot of money for an easy program to organize everything in one place!

    @Jessica, Not a dense question at all! You do put the chicken in raw (but cut into chunks). It’s foolproof. We gave some pieces to Owen to try and it was not too spicy. Owen likes pretty spiced/flavorful food, though. He tried one piece and spit it back out, but I don’t think it was the spice… I think it was the “I only want to eat what I know” phase we’re going through right now.

    @Meredith, YUM! I’m not really a pork person either, but I know Benjamin would love to try that pulled pork recipe, so I am game to give it a shot. Yes, a list of Mommy Meals is exactly what I am working on putting together too. Our favorite superfast dinner is lemon pepper fish. Any white fish filet, sprinkled with lemon pepper seasoning and pan fried with a little olive oil. That’s one of the only things I make over and over the same way, every time. I would venture to say it’s Owen’s favorite food, too, so we always make him his own filet for the next day. Thank you for the sweet comments! Believe me, I don’t always have it all together 🙂 I forcibly make time for blogging, and sometimes other things fall behind. I try to balance week to week, though, so overall I can fit everything in. Working from home a lot is a HUGE reason why I can be so flexible. It’s such a blessing. Other than that, it’s a lot of post-it notes and a very helpful husband.

  6. Oh, how I wish I liked the curry/cumin flavors, but for some reason I can’t get into them. I love your idea though, Kate!
    You sound a lot like me – I have recipes everywhere too – cookbooks, gmail, pinterest, a binder. I even bought a baker’s rack for my kitchen to hold all of my cookbooks. I love just looking at them and thinking about the recipes. 🙂
    My favorite slow cooker recipe is a vegetarian chili. Not sure if a meat eater would like it as much if they miss the texture of the meat, but it really is flavorful. I usually go lighter on the spice, but that is a personal preference.
    http://allrecipes.com/recipe/grandmas-slow-cooker-vegetarian-chili/detail.aspx

  7. Jenna (Hello, I Love You)

    Thank you for posting this. I can’t wait to make it next week.

  8. My favorite slow-cooker recipe came from a cookbook called Slow and Low for healthy, low sodium beef stew. So, so, so easy and a perfect thing to come home to in the winter. And, the way my mom (and I) have always kept track is to write a short note and the date at the top of a printed recipe. “10/2011 – delicious, but not enough salt” I love my mother’s old cookbooks – they are like a tiny journal of food love.

  9. Thanks, Kate!!
    I can’t wait to try it myself 🙂

  10. I am obsessed with my slow cooker! There is nothing better than coming in to a kitchen that smells like delicious food and not having to worry about cooking! My favorites include pulled pork, pulled spicy chicken, lentil soup, pasta fagiole, and beef stew. Most of them can be repurposed, too. Pulled chicken sandwiches one night, then use the meat with some beans and rice in burritos the next, on top of a pizza the next, in quesadillas the next, on nachos the next…. Oh the fun! 😉

  11. I’m actually making your “curry in a hurry” tonight for dinner tomorrow night. It is currently sitting in my fridge, all prepped, waiting to be popped into the slow cooker tomorrow morning. I just had a question about your recipe though. I’m always a bit anxious when cooking meat in the slow cooker…want to avoid giving my poor family food poisoning. I wanted to check about the amount of liquid you added to the rest of the ingredients. When I look at it, it seems like there might not be enough. Right now it looks like a stew but I’m worried that there should be more liquid covering the meat/veg. Was the coconut milk the only liquid you added or was there something else? I just want to make sure before I plug it in tomorrow.

    I know you’re busy so don’t worry if you don’t have time to respond to this. I’ll figure it out.

  12. @Meredith, The coconut milk is the only liquid. It doesn’t really cover the meat like when you boil it on the stove. But still, the slow cooker gets so hot inside (if you keep the lid shut) like an oven, so it is cooked all the way through regardless. Trust the slow cooker 🙂 Enjoy! Hope you love it!

  13. Just finished up dinner tonight and your chicken curry recipe was awesome! It turned out so well (I tried it with light coconut milk and it tasted fine). Thanks for sharing this delicious slow cooker meal with all of us!

  14. Pingback: Mommy Meals « Therapeutic Baking

  15. Old post here, but I was wondering if you had come up with a solution for your recipe organizing? I haven’t tried Evernote yet, but some bloggers seem to like. I was just wondering your take. Thanks, Kate!

  16. @Megan, I haven’t had the time to try anything new… so for now I’m using Pinterest for ideas and pen and paper for the ones I’ve tried. Not a good system!

  17. Tonight is the second time that I’m making this curry. It turned out SO good last time. It’s true that it seems like very little liquid, but after 7-8 hours it was perfect!! Thank you!

  18. Pingback: Quick Curried Chicken | foodresolution14

Leave a Reply

