She Says… Record Breaking

If you’ve been reading this blog for very long, you know that as soon as we started daycare when Owen was 5 1/2 months old, we have made A LOT of trips to the doctor. Like, an inordinate amount. Like, WAY more than our fair share, even as a daycare kid. His little immune system just couldn’t catch a break. He seems to have inherited his Mama’s tendency to get weird and unusual presentations of illnesses and a propensity toward getting a wildly extreme version of a sickness (pneumonia, for instance) instead of a normal cold like everyone else. His food sensitivities/allergies and somewhat mysterious skin issues don’t help the issue. Oh, and his asthmatic breathing when he gets sick. That makes little colds a bit scarier and often necessitates an extra doc’s visit to have them listen to his chest.

For the last 6 months, on average, we have visited our friendly pediatrician at least once a month, usually more like once every two weeks. If I had more time I would actually add up all of the time and money we’ve spent there, but honestly, I don’t think I want to see those numbers.

Luckily, thankfully, blessedly, Owen is a trooper. He smiled through our emergency room visit when he had pneumonia, he giggled through his week of 105 temps when he had roseola. He has already had 2 chest x-rays and countless needle sticks for bloodwork and he’s barely 14 months old.

The last month or so, though, I feel like we’ve turned a corner. Maybe it was the warm summer weather, or the switch in daycares to a smaller room, or the move to the ‘burbs. Maybe it’s just that he’s getting older and his immune system is getting stronger. Maybe it’s that he’s already had every germ in the baby book, so he’s a walking cocktail of antibodies. Whatever it is, I am happy for it.

We have not been to the doctor since August 6th. That was Owen’s 1 year appointment and last appointment to confirm he was over roseola (killed two birds with 1 stone there). 6 1/2 weeks. That’s a record.

The last few days some bugs have been going around daycare and Owen has been a bit congested and out of sorts. Since we’ve been through this so many times before, I am well-versed in the drill. Taking his temp. Ibuprofen before bed and honey for his cough. Humifier on high. Breathing treatments if I hear a wheeze. Saline drops and nose sucking. I thought we were going to have to break our 6 week streak.

But you know what? He never got a fever. Nothing escalated beyond a gunky nose and a cough. He slept well last night and woke up with no boogers. I don’t want to jinx anything, but I think we kicked this bug like a normal kid. Maybe that 6 week break was just what his little system needed to rebuild. My fingers are crossed that this fall we can continue to break our doctor-free record.

What do you do when your baby is sick? Any remedies I haven’t tried or should add into my treatment plan?

15 responses to “She Says… Record Breaking

  1. Haha, you’ve totally jinxed yourself with this post for sure. 🙂

  2. I was just going to say that I hope you didn’t jinx yourself, but Kara beat me to it! I always end up eating my words when I blog about something.

  3. Yeah, poor little guy:( I’m lucky, my one year old has only gone to the doctor for scheduled appointments. No ear infections, no sicknesses bad enough to visit the doctor.

    It’s probably because he’s not in daycare though…..I’m blessed to be a stay at home mom and I was able to exclusively breastfeed him til 6months old. I will never take that for granted!

  4. I have been following your blog throughout my son’s first year (we were due around the same time last year). I just have to say that you have done an amazing job with Owen w.r.t. his illnesses and I have learned a lot from your process. I want to say thank you for sharing.

    I have heard that probiotics are supposed to help babies/toddlers recover. I haven’t given my son anything yet but contemplating doing so this flu season. My son was born 9 weeks early last year and we made it through the first flu season of his life unscathed–I believe due to the RSV shot he was receiving every 5 weeks or so. I’m petrified about this year’s season as he isn’t eligible for the shot now that he’s older. I found since I’ve become a mother that I’m now a major b*tch about hand-washing. I feel badly about asking my family to do this but on the other hand…really, how hard is it to wash your friggin’ hands!!!!

    Keep up the good work!

  5. @Diana…I never get involved in drama within the comments sections on blogs, but I just can’t bite my tongue anymore. Your comments on this particular blog always rub me the wrong way. Today’s comment was no different. Do you realize you regularly come off as if you’re criticizing Kate (and Benjamin)’s parenting choices? Today it was their decision to both work and to put their child in daycare.

    For the record, my little guy doesn’t go to daycare either. But I don’t keep him in a bubble. He’s picked up germs from storytime at the library, music/swimming classes, and who knows where else! Also, I’ve been warned from other moms that children are regularly sick, either when they enter daycare as infants or when they enter preschool as 3 year olds! I only hope to handle my child’s future illnesses (and any other emergencies that come with raising a healthy, active boy) with as much grace and calm as Kate has with Owen’s illnesses.

    Also, what was the point of the breastfeeding comment, other than to take a jab at Kate?

  6. Yay!! Go Owen!!

    I am scared to say this for fear of jinxing myself… but I think we have turned a corner, too!

    (Although he HAS been tugging at his ears again… please please please no ear infection!)

  7. Cameron’s got the runny nose-post nasal drip cough now too. I had to laugh at the “I think we kicked this bug like a normal kid” part. lol Poor little Owen, I hope this cold/flu season gives him a break! Are you getting Owen a flu shot this year? My doc is recommending it for Cameron when they come out this Fall.

  8. @Kara & @Sarah, I know, right? Probably did.

    @Diana, I am biting my tongue so I don’t type something I will regret later. Thanks for your comments, they are always so uplifting and positive!

    @Meredith, We tried probiotics at one point when Owen first started daycare and was sick a lot, but then we stopped them when we were doing an elimination diet to figure out his food allergies (they have milk in them) and never started them again. I didn’t see a difference in the time that we used them, but I still have an unopened bottle in the ‘fridge, so it can’t hurt to start mixing them into his milk these days! Great reminder.

    @Jen, Amen, sister! I appreciate the support and couldn’t have said it better myself.

    @PhaseThree, Argh, I know the feeling. Fingers crossed for both of us!

    @Angie, A few years ago I got hit with the flu. It literally flattened me and I was out of work for a week. I have never in my whole life felt as sick as I was then. Since then I always get a flu shot — after discussing with many doctors and med students, I think the chance of it helping FAR outweighs the harm, for me and my family. Owen, Benjamin and I will all be getting our flu shots in the next month or so.

  9. My kid has never even had a fever before and I really credit my feeding choices. It takes dedication, but butt-feeding is really the best choice for the baby. Sure, it requires a gluten-free, vegan diet that is 100% purchased at Whole foods, but really, it’s my superior attitude that makes butt feeding so rewarding.

    Breastfeeding is so 2010.

  10. You guys are doing a great job! xo

  11. I have to agree with Jen on this one. The breastfeeding snark even made me wince.

  12. Kate –
    When our child is sick, we just allow our son to rest, rest, rest!-(same remedies that you too, have also mentioned).
    Fluids!! ‘Try’ & keep them hydrated!….as always, a lot of cuddles too 😉
    Hugs to you & O

  13. kara is my hero. the end.

  14. @kara OMG I die. lol

    @kate: Yup, we’re all getting the shot too – it has been 8 years since I had the flu, but it’s something I’ll NEVER forget – ever! I couldn’t imagine little Cameron getting that sick!

  15. I know I sound like Debbie Downer, but we all had flu shots last year, early in the season, and guess what? We all got the flu. My 2-year-old had it the worst. We were all flattened for about 6 days. I have a pediatrician friend who said she had a lot of cases of that happening. Let’s hope they are able to match up the dominant strain with the vaccine this year, because it didn’t work out perfectly last year.

    I hope you and Owen will have many fewer visits to the doc this year!! Sounds like he’s getting past the super vulnerable stage and that you’re doing everything you can to keep him well and comfortable. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

