She Says… Party Boy

Owen’s party was a total success.

Good food, great friends and lots of happy babies.

Owen was in heaven surrounded by all of his friends. Mr. Social was quite the party host. He even cried when people said goodbye!

The rainbow cake (my first attempt at a cake… ever) turned out beautifully. So impressive when we made that first slice.

And Owen totally dug his gluten free rainbow cupcakes.

All in all an awesome day. We all slept well that night.

Now I am in New York for the beginning of another CRAZY work week running an in-person training that starts in New York and continues in Boston. I flew in yesterday on 9/11, on an eerily empty flight. A little nerve-wracking to be here on that day. “Complicated” doesn’t even begin to describe the logistics of the training for the rest of this week. It’s going to be a long week of early mornings and late nights and missed bedtimes. But we’ll make it through.

This morning Benjamin let me know that Owen slept in until after 7:00am. That’s a whole lot nicer than his usual 6:15am (or 5:00am if his teeth are bothering him, as they have been recently) wake up time! How come that never happens when I am home?! Lucky Daddy.

Fingers crossed that the week goes smoothly and I can get back to my normal schedule next week. I’ve only been gone since yesterday and I already miss my boys.

 

 

18 responses to “She Says… Party Boy

  1. Love, Love, Love your decorations and the cake was beautiful! Certainly looks like a wonderful day!

  2. The cake come out awesome Kate! All the decorations looked great actually. glad you guys had such a good party, even if was delayed a couple months :)

  3. OMG that cake looks amazing!

  4. What a beautiful party!!!!!

  5. Seriously, that cake is a thing of beauty! So glad it was a fun party.

  6. What an ambitious cake for your first! It looks tasty!

    Faith always does that to me. If I get up at 5am to run, then she sleeps in until 7:15 for my husband. On my “weekend” day, she’s up at 6 on the dot. Little punk. :)

  7. Wow- impressive party! Unbelievably cute, and your cake looks fabulous :) Happy Birthday to the little guy.

  8. The cake looks AMAZING! You had all the cute little touches too. I’m totally stealing your ideas off of Pinterest ;) Good luck with the week, hopefully it flies by.

  9. Amazing job, Kate! I love the rainbow cake and the fruit skewers. So glad everyone had such a great time! Good luck with work this week!

  10. Everything was amazing Kate! I had a great time. I loved the mason jars and rainbow colored straws – such a nice touch!

  11. Looks like an awesome party :) I love the decorations, and the rainbow food looks amazing – way to go on the cake!

  12. that was way too beautiful..but m a bit disappointed not to see any VIDEO..:(((((

  13. I love the use of color in all of the birthday food! The rainbow cake turned out FABULOUS!!! The garland looks great w/the 12mos. photo display :)
    Did you make the pom poms?
    Looks like the party was a Success & Owen was one very happy child!

  14. Cake is very impressive! Looks like a great party! Nice work!

  15. Thanks, everyone! I had so much fun putting all of the little details together. Obviously a 1st birthday is more for Benjamin and I than Owen, so we took advantage of the party to get all of our favorite people together. It doubled as a house-warming.

    @anie, We were too busy enjoying the party to take a lot of video, or even pictures. Just how it should have been! One of Owen’s grandfathers took a video of us singing Happy Birthday, but honestly, I didn’t want anyone’s eardrums to bleed, so I left it off the blog :)

    @JO, I did make the pompoms. It was a Martha Stewart tutorial made from some cheap tissue paper and floral wire. They turned out ok — not exactly as spherical as I had hoped, so I turned them into half-circles and smooshed them up against the wall. You can google “Martha Stewart Pompoms” and see the tutorial.

  16. Such a creative, colorful party- I feel like the cake itself would’ve been impressive enough! Saw the other pics on thestrengthoffaith.com via twitter, lovely– totally pinned the shirt you wore a few weeks ago. ;-) Good taste. Happy bday Owen!

  17. your party decorations and drinks should be in a magazine. very crafty and elegant. good pics.

  18. beautiful party! i’m wondering where you found those cute straws? my little guy will be 1 on sunday and i’m looking for something similar :)

Leave a Reply

