She Says… Loud and Clear

ROGER THAT.
I HEAR YOU, LOUD AND CLEAR.

Your 1st year molars are coming in.

That explains the weird food “regression” (spot on, Christina!), the two rough nights we’ve had, the incessant drooling and the obsession with sticking your whole fist in your mouth while crying.

I get it.

Unfortunately, my sweet child, there’s not much I can do for you except cuddle you, pump you full of Ibuprofen, give you frozen food and things to bite on, and distract you. I’m doing the best I can.

I thought we were totally getting the hang of getting teeth without drama, but apparently molars are an entirely different beast.

Poor baby.

In other news, Benjamin came home from his 2nd week away! Unfortunately he took a red-eye back and has another work deadline tonight, which means I am working from home while also taking care of Owen. Who is teething. Anyone want to come over and play? I have a feeling it’s going to be a long day. Especially long when it starts at 5:00am.

Stupid molars.

What We’re Eating: With no husband to cook for and no daycare food to pack (since Owen stays home on Fridays), I did my best to stay OUT of the kitchen last night. I had a frozen burrito, a hard-boiled egg and leftover broccoli I made for Owen for dinner. He had Ian’s gluten-free chicken nuggets (which are TOTALLY delicious, by the way) along with broccoli, frozen peas and peaches.

9 responses to “She Says… Loud and Clear

  1. Yikes, molars huh?! Poor thing, hopefully it’s not too bad. Good luck!

  2. I have found the key to dealing with molar teething in the day is distraction. Trips to the park, whatever you can do to keep him from thinking about how pissed he is about what’s going down in his mouth. (That’s what she said) You’re SOL in the night beyond Motrin, but day time is worse anyway.

    If you get desperate (like me every day at 3:30 pm) those sugary freezer pops are a lifesaver.

  3. I’m sorry – molars are the worst! And they take For. Ever. to come in. I mentioned yesterday that my kids used to regress to spoon feeding when they were teething – I think it was especially bad during the molars. My 4-year-old was cutting molars from about 18 months until he was past 2, and my 2-year-old took about 6 months to get them all too. I don’t know what the “normal” time period is – maybe my kids took an extra long time.
    Poor little Owen – I hope they come in quickly!

  4. I will likely get stoned for saying this (and I’m NOT saying you should do this!) but my grandmother once told me that she used to put scotch or whiskey on her babies gums when they were teething.

  5. Have you ever heard of those amber teething necklaces?? A friend of mine just ordered one and I’m really interested in hearing how it works for her little one and may buy one myself for Seth. Anything is worth a shot for these horrible molars.
    And I do agree about keeping them busy and distracted, that it helps keep their minds off of their pain. Try taking a field trip or two 🙂

  6. Aww poor Owen. I hope those molars come in ASAP so you both can get some relief! I am dreading the day that molars make their way into my-slow-to-teeth little girlie’s life!

  7. I think a lot of our eating issues the last week or so are teeth-related, too 😦 Hope Owen hangs in there, and hope you do, too! Mama deserves some wine.

  8. hi kate…when will u upload some pics/vids of owen…………………..??m missing that….:)

  9. awww hope Owen gets better soon and the teeth pop through

Leave a Reply

