She Says… THE Watch

Recently I’ve gotten a lot of comments on a certain accessory I wear every day.



There’s a funny story about this watch, actually.

Way back when we were trying really, really hard to get pregnant, and this blog was still in the “I’m going to Google the shit out of my situation to try to figure out what’s going on inside my body” phase, I made some really incredible blogfriends. These women helped me realize, through telling their own stories about struggling with infertility, that not only was I not alone in my frustration and sadness, but I was in GREAT company.

One of those amazingly awesome bloggers is Such a Good Egg. I had to go to Chicago for work in January of 2010 (3 months pregnant with little Owen) and Benjamin tagged along so we could make it a little mini-vacay. It was an extra special trip because Egg lives in Chicago and we got together over drinks. She was even more fabulous in person than she is on her blog. Seriously. At the time she was still struggling to get pregnant, but I’m happy to report that now she has two beautiful, healthy and happy twin babies at home!

Anyway, back to the watch. So while we were there I was in that “fat but not yet pregnant” stage (if I remember correctly), and in walks Egg, in all her thin, blond gorgeousness. And wearing this utterly cool white watch.

After we hung out and Benjamin and I headed back to our hotel room, I mentioned casually, “I loved her white watch!”. In typical male fashion, I think he said something like, “What watch? Oh. Yeah. I liked it too.”. I kept thinking about that watch after we returned from our trip and knew I really wanted to find it for myself… but alas, work got busy and I eventually forgot.

Imagine my surprise when I opened a box on my birthday in February to find a white watch very similar to Egg’s! Benjamin had remembered. And not only that, but he found Egg’s Twitter name and messaged her to find out who made her watch so he could get it for me. As it turned out, hers was a Michael Kors, but since Benjamin couldn’t find the exact same one (and they got a bit expensive), he opted for a cheaper (and less diamondy) version by Fossil for me. It was PERFECT. I have gotten countless compliments on it since. And the best part is that every time I look at it, I am flooded with memories about trying for a baby, making that baby, meeting Egg and my other wonderful blogfriends, and all that has happened since I first put that watch on my wrist.

Since I’ve gotten so many questions about it, I’ve searched online for the exact one that I have, but I can’t find it. However, I’ve put the closest approximation on my This Place is Now a Home Amazon Store. I must say, it has maintained stylishness from January 2010 to now, and I don’t see it stopping anytime soon. Jump on the white watch bandwagon and make me Egg a trendsetter.

Oh, you didn’t know I had an Amazon store? I know, I know, it’s about time I got the link to it on my site somewhere! I’m working on it. I’ve been keeping a running list of all of my favorite products since Owen was born — toys, breastfeeding supplies, food, books, etc. If you’re on the market for any of these items (or, you know, a white watch like mine), I would love it if you would order through my store! I get a small percentage of the sales, and you can bet that money will go straight to buying more diapers πŸ™‚

Happy shopping.

What are your favorite baby products that you are using right now? Things you couldn’t have lived without when your baby was tiny? Help me grow my store with tried-and-true products.

10 responses to “She Says… THE Watch

  1. You’re getting fancy now with an Amazon store AND accessories? Is the watch drool proof? πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for posting this!!! Sending to my husband right now for gift ideas πŸ˜‰ haha

  3. Totally checking out your Amazon store.

    Thanks for the shout out my friend. It was so much fun meeting in real life. (Btw you did NOT look even slightly chubs, you looked glowing and gorgeous.) You gave me so much hope on that freezing winter night, since we had such similar backstories and you had such an upbeat attitude and were–yip, Owen!–successfully pregnant. I remember the day Benjamin emailed me about the watch…all I could think was, “Wow! Lucky Kate! He’s a good, good egg!!!!” πŸ™‚

  4. I think that watch, or a similar one, was in the movie The Blind Side. After seeing it, my step mom liked it and got the Fossil version as a gift from my dad. It seems to be popular as I’ve seen quite a few in the last year or 2.

  5. Funny you should mention that – I’ve definitely notices it before! I’m in the market for a new watch so I think I’ll bookmark this one – I feel like most women’s watches are never big enough for my liking.

  6. What a sweet husband you have to remember such a thing πŸ™‚

  7. Great timing Kate. I’m looking for a new watch because I misplaced my current one – it’s somewhere in the house but damned if I can find it! I was thinking about silver (again) but I wear a lot of white, so maybe….
    And yours looks awesome… so probably…

  8. I saw a similar watch in The Blind Side as well and fell in love with it. Apparently it became a trend. We were on a cruise last September, an dI saw the Fossil one you have in several places, but it never looked right on me. I guess I can thank then-swollen wrists (pregnancy) for that. I should hit up the Fossil store this weekend to see what my now non-swollen wrists to see what it looks like. I ended up buying some $5 chintzy POS off some eBay store based in Hong Kong, which was metal that was painted white and was kind of bedazzled. I got a lot of compliments on it but tossed it recently because the paint had chipped off.

  9. Please forgive my terrible typing above…

  10. Pingback: 6 Things That Made Me Happy Today

Leave a Reply

