She Says… First Words!

Despite the rash, we had a lot of silly time this weekend. And an important first! Owen’s first word.

He’s been saying “Dada” (generally comes out like “DIH-dah”) to mean Daddy and Dog (it’s easy to get them confused), but also to mean lots of other things. He plays around with “Mmmmmummmummmumm”, but hasn’t really gotten “Mama”. Generally it’s a lot of cute “babadubadubadub” and “numanumanumanum”, so we don’t really consider those first words, exactly. Recently he’s been parroting a lot of the sounds we make, and carefully studying our mouths to see how we say certain words. Then on Sunday he dropped a toy and, totally unprovoked, said, “UH OH”. Clear as day. Of course I erupted with praise and laughter (and grabbed the video camera), so he continued to say it over and over.

Then on Monday he kept putting his arms up over his head. I can’t quite figure out what this motion is trying to tell me (or if he’s just figured out he can touch his hair or something like that), but I started copying him and putting MY arms up in the air. He thought that was hilarious, but when I went in to give him a high five, he just about stopped breathing he was laughing so hard. This continued for FAR longer than the video shows. This morning I asked him for a high five and he could barely touch my hand he was already laughing so hard he was snorting. Who knew that was so funny?! Silly monkey.

Just TRY not to giggle along with him. I dare you.

What was your baby’s first word? When did he or she first say it? I know Owen is a little later than some babies in terms of language, but what can I say, he’s developing like a textbook BOY — motor first, language second!

14 responses to “She Says… First Words!

  1. My little girl developed opposite Owen. Language first, motor second. She didn’t crawl until 10 months and now, at 12 mo. is pulling up and cruising but has not attempted to stand or take any steps. On the language side she said Momma and Dadda at 5 or 6 months but other than that, her first word was “Baby”. Everything is a baby. She says it in such a sweet way, and really drags it out. “Aww, baaaby!” And she will point at pictures of babies, but then point at a cat in a picture and call it “baby” too. Lol. Shortly after baby, followed, “hi”. And she has been saying this for about a month and a half now. She is 12 mo. and I can’t wait to see what is next, although, I think I heard her try to say “thank you” yesterday. :) Fun stuff!

  2. My kid just started laughing her ass off when I played that video for her. I think she has a crush. :) She likes younger men!

  3. OMG he is SO CUTE!

  4. OMG cutest kid EVER!! I love this video! SOOO cute!! Isn’t it amazing that we can capture these moments in a nanosecond now? Maya isn’t talking yet (she’s 7 mths) but for a while has been doing “ah-ta” “da-da” (not to mean anything though my hubby thinks she does!) and “ma” but not quite “mama.” I think she’s a textbook girl — less interested in motoring (not crawling yet) but very talkative and expressive. Each kid is different though and it’s great to see what others’ kiddies are up to so we know what to expect soon! :)

  5. SO CUTE!!! Eli’s first word (other than Dadda… which he only sometimes means) was tatata, which means cat. He was about Owen’s age when he started saying it. Funny, too, for about 6 weeks he would only whisper it. He’s 14 months now, and he still usually whispers ‘tatata’ or ‘titita’ when he sees a kitty cat! Those are still his only real words… though he will moo when you ask him what a cow says.

  6. My 10 month old said bye bye last week as my parents were telling her bye bye over and over again. I’m pretty sure she was just mimicking them but it was the sweetest bye bye I have ever heard! She has also recently been saying Dada when she sees her Daddy. :) Language development is so fun to watch!

  7. OMG sooooooo cute!! lol I had 3 people tell me in the run of 2 days that Cameron was saying things back to me when I was talking to him, but I didn’t hear him over my big loud mouth apparently! The first time, they said he said “Yeah” back to me when I was asking him if he wanted his lunch (I was answering “yeah” for him first, so I think he was mimicking me) and the second time, they said he said “ok” back to me and I didn’t hear him AGAIN! lol

  8. So. Stinking. Cute! There’s some debate on Elle’s first word – my mom swears it was “kee kee” for “kitty” when she was about 8 or 9 months old, but DH and I heard very clearly “baby” when she was 10 months old. Since then, she’s added another two dozen words. She’s got a ridiculous vocabulary – some words are definitely more clear than others, but we can totally understand what she’s talking about. Owen is light years ahead of her in mobility, though – she doesn’t have any interest in walking and just crawls like a pro to get everywhere. I’m totally OK with that for now – she’s enough of a handful as it is! :)

  9. Oh that little giggle is so precious!

  10. how sweet!! so glad he’s feeling better.

  11. Oh my gosh, he’s just too cute! I couldn’t help but break into a big grin! :)

  12. my child thinks high fives are the funniest thing on earth too! well, second to dogs. :) i looooooove the video! we just have dadda here but he definitely only uses it for his dad so i counted it as the first.

  13. Kate,
    Owen is too precious and im glad to see he is on the mend. I have a post request for you that might be helpful to myself and others…..

    You seem very organized and “type a”, which means you probably have a good daycare routine down. My 9 month old starts daycare in 10 days and i would love your advice and suggestions on making the transition, how you prepare for the day, helpful hints, etc.

    I would greatly appreciate it and i would be willing to bet others would too. Love the blog!

Leave a Reply

