She Says… Over the Hump

Oh, my swollen, red, speckled baby.

Thankfully the rash looks a heckuva lot worse than it was… Owen barely noticed it was there. I think he was just glad not to be on fire with a fever.

Doc confirmed it is/was a virus, very likely roseola like so many readers diagnosed (thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing your experiences with me — because of you, I was happy rather than terrified when that ugly rash broke out!). He said it isn’t entirely necessary to name the virus, as it could be one of several similar viruses, and there’s really no test to confirm which one is which. The important thing is that they are all treated the same way… DO NOTHING. We managed the fever all last week (and man, that was a full time job — got a little scary there for a bit when he hit 104 and 105 several evenings in a row), and then once the rash broke out it pretty much went away. Owen has been incredibly tolerant and even pretty happy through the whole thing, which was the main indicator to me that it wasn’t as bad as it seemed.

So despite the red spots all over the little dude’s body, he’s actually healthy again. And not contagious. Which means he can go back to daycare this week. Woo hoo (for both of us)! I must say, as much as I am looking forward to getting back on track at work this week, I kind of loved our time together last week. We spent the whole week laying low at home, and since the fever pretty much wiped him out, he spent most of that time in my arms. The amount of time he spends in my arms is getting smaller and smaller, and even though it wasn’t the best of circumstances, I totally cherished being able to hold him and rock him and kiss his sweaty little forehead.

Unfortunately coinciding with this return to health is the popping up of 1, possibly 2, new teeth. Of course. I can see one pushing its way through, and judging from the way that all of Owen’s other teeth have emerged in pairs, and the way he’s drooling and chewing on things and whining, I’m going to guess the 2nd one isn’t far behind.

Here’s to this week being a little easier than the last one!

8 responses to “She Says… Over the Hump

  1. Man, that rash looks scary! I’m glad you knew to expect that. I’m also glad you got some cuddle time. I feel like I hardly ever get cuddle time any more, she’s always so busy and on the go. 🙂

  2. Weird to say this, but yay for roseola! Glad it wasn’t something awful 🙂

  3. Thank goodness you knew to expect the rash. I would have been freaking out. Glad he’s on the mend and you were able to get some snuggling in. 🙂

  4. Glad he is feeling better. In my experiences, teeth get easier as the babies get older – I have my fingers crossed for you!

  5. Awww, I’m glad he is feeling better and hope the rash clears up soon!

  6. So happy he’s feeling better! I hope those teeth don’t cause TOO much trouble… pesky little things. 🙂

  7. Thank goodness for blog moms!! I think if that happened to Cameron and I didn’t know to expect that it would have scared me to death! So happy his fever broke and he’s feeling better. What a little trooper that little boy is!

    Cuddle time is priceless, especially with day care/work. It’s back to work for me in less than 2 weeks. If I ever get annoyed that he constantly wants to be in my arms all day long for whatever reason I really try to remember how lucky I have been to have this year off.

  8. You take such good pictures! How do you take a picture with the background blurry but him in focus so well? Tell me your secrets!!

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

