She Says… Lessons

Top 3 things I’ve learned a lot over the last few days:

1. My instincts are spot on. Monday I remember saying offhandedly, “Owen feels a little warm.” At the time I wrote it off as teething and didn’t bother taking his temp, but still… I planted the seed. Tuesday morning before I took him to daycare I said to myself, “He STILL feels a little warm. I should check him before we leave.” I did, but unfortunately my temperature-taking skills were not as good as my intuition. When the thermometer said 98.6, I believed it and took him to daycare. Luckily their temperature-taking skills were a bit better and confirmed the slightly elevated temp, which prompted me to call the doctor.

2. One man’s 101 is another man’s 105. The numbers alone don’t mean a whole lot. Sure, hearing that Owen had a temp of 105 certainly made my heart beat a bit faster, but looking into his eyes is a better indicator of how sick he is. I remember the controversy that ensued after this post where I said that I didn’t rush to take Owen to the doctor at the first sign of a fever. Do you know why? Numbers aren’t everything. Which brings me to #3…

3. I have a kid who gets a lot of fevers. Someone once commented on this blog (I think on the post I mentioned above) and said something like, “Kids don’t just GET fevers for no reason.” I’m sure there’s a reason for the fever, but I have to disagree with that person. Owen seems to run a temp when he’s teething, slightly sick, really sick, thinking about getting sick, getting over being sick, and sometimes in between just for the heck of it. It’s the way his body manifests the germ-fighting it is doing. And between daycare, Music Together class, playing on playgrounds, sharing toys with the dog and having little buddies, his body is doing a lot of germ-fighting. Maybe some kids don’t just GET fevers, but mine does. And it’s ok. He’s ok. And every time he gets one I’m learning more and more about the ins and outs of what he looks like when he’s sorta sick, sick, and really sick, and it doesn’t always correlate with his temp.

So I’m still waiting to see what happens with this current illness. The temp spiked again yesterday afternoon, back up to 104, and we spent the afternoon chillin’ on the couch together and playing in a tepid bath while I encouraged him to drink water so he didn’t get dehydrated. I’ll admit, it got a little bit scary as his eyelids were drooping and he seemed like all he wanted to do was lay in my arms. He slept all night, though, for the first time in a few nights, and this morning he was down to 99. I thought we were in the clear, but then went back up to 102 this morning. Now he seems to be steady at 101 and he’s playing happily. I’ve been on the phone with the doctor’s office about a million times debating if we need to be seen again today, but we’ve decided to wait it out and we have an appointment scheduled for tomorrow afternoon to do some more tests if the fever persists.

You, wise moms of the internet, gave me some great things to Google yesterday! So far I’m thinking it sounds like roseola, and I’m anxiously awaiting the rash that should come within 24 hours of the fever breaking. That would be awesome, in fact, because then I would know exactly what it was and know that there’s nothing I need to be doing do to treat it. Another theory is a UTI, though that is highly unlikely for a circumcised boy of his age. If the fever persists tomorrow we’ll investigate that further. And the most likely but perhaps most frustrating cause of all of this drama is a passing virus that should leave on its own by tomorrow. Only time will tell!

The good part about all of this is that I have gotten some mayjuh cuddle time with my little dude. I’m sorry he’s been feeling so crappy, but he’s pretty much spent 3 days in my arms and I would be lying if I said I didn’t get a little bit of enjoyment out of it. I adore the little cutie pie. The bad part is, of course, that he’s been sick and that I have a TON of work to get done during naps and after bedtimes to make up for not being at work this week.

7 responses to “She Says… Lessons

  1. Are you using a rectal thermometer? I have one, but have never used it. I can imagine it would be difficult to use it correctly. I have one of those temporal artery ones, but I don’t think it’s that accurate. Not only has my kid never had a fever, but I’ve never even thought she might, so I’ve never tried to take her temp. Although…maybe that means she’s had fevers and I just never noticed. :)

  2. My daughter had roseola as a toddler. Same thing: alarmingly high fever but no other symptoms. Her post-fever rash was so minor I all but missed it. Other than that, she was fine as could be. (After a late-night ER visit with my husband, of course, just in case…)

  3. Totally agree with all three points. Particularly that he gets a fever even when he thinks about getting sick, haha. Ryan “feels warm” at least once a week. In my opinion, it’s how some kids fight off germs, even if the germs aren’t strong enough to manifest into an illness.

    You’re his mom and you know him best. You know what HIS normal is; it doesn’t matter what every other kid’s normal is. Keep listening to that mom voice in your head.

  4. My cousin’s son also seems to get random fevers that don’t necessarily correlate to how sick he is. I think your intuition is spot on – his eyes will tell you the truth. I remember that comment, and I remember thinking at the time that, chances are, that mother and I probably parent VERY differently, and probably would not be real-life friends. To each his own, but I think you have been very level headed about poor Owen’s illnesses.

  5. Oh Kate, here’s hoping for some relief for all 3 of you!

  6. April Murray

    People tend to freak out about fevers. I think you are being extremely level headed about this. I don’t treat fevers unless my kids seem uncomfortable. Fevers are our bodies natural way of fighting infections…let them be, but keep a good eye on them! Good job Kate, Owen is a lucky boy!

  7. My LO gets fevers too. She spikes a fever every single time she isn’t feeling quite right. The fevers usually hang around….they don’t go away as quickly as other kids. I can completely relate to what you go thru with Owen……

Leave a Reply

