She Says… First Steps

Remember when I predicted that Owen would take his first steps by 10 months? Well, I was a few weeks early, but he actually took his first step last week while we were at the beach! It was like he had planned it: He went from sitting to standing all by himself (almost levitating like a little genie on the way up), and then hovered there in place for a second before taking a teeny tiny half step with one foot, and then the other. His arms dangled in front of him, Frankenstein-style, for balance. He looked up at me in amazement and smiled before plopping to the ground. Ta da!

My whole family was there to witness it and everyone clapped and cheered.

I haven’t seen very many steps since then, but he’s tried standing a few times and is wobbly but definitely able.

While it is getting harder and harder to contain him when we’re playing, which can be exhausting, it’s also incredibly thrilling to watch my little baby become a clamoring, climbing little boy right in front of my eyes. Thank goodness for our babyproofed new house! We moved at the perfect time. He is into EVERYTHING. He opens every door, finds a way to climb up and onto just about everything, and picks up anything from specks of dirt to screwdrivers to dog toys to books. Just this morning I was trying to unload the dishwasher and I gave him a spoon to play with on the floor. I turned around from putting some plates away and he was standing on the open door of the dishwasher with a spatula in one hand and pulling the top rack towards him with his other hand. Busy, busy baby.

As they say, my life is now over πŸ™‚

Just kidding. I think the [newest] fun part is just beginning.

6 responses to “She Says… First Steps

  1. Sooooo exciting, Kate!! That’s awesome–what a big boy he is getting to be. I am so happy for you guys!! I keep saying I want to freeze time and now think I will enjoy this time where babyproofing isn’t quite necessary πŸ˜‰

  2. Way to go Owen! My baby isn’t so brave πŸ™‚ She prefers to hang onto the walls, furniture, me, the dog, whatever instead of walking. Kids are nuts πŸ™‚

    I also have WAY too much help unloading and loading the dishwasher. Laundry too! No wonder I never get anything done during the day (it couldn’t be because I’m reading blogs instead of doing it during nap time, no sirree)

  3. Hooray for Owen!

  4. Yip yip yip!!! Go Owen, go! (Perfect timing with the new baby-proofed house, PHEW!) xoxo

Leave a Reply

