He Says… Missing Out

This last month has flown by and I can’t believe that Owen will be 9 months old on Sunday.  I know Kate will write one of her beautiful monthly letters next week, but I just can’t believe how much our little boy has changed over the last month.

I’m also a little sad that I’ve been travelling so much this past month that I feel like I’m missing a ton of this rapid developmental stage.  This past month has been a whirlwind of work trips, and long work days where I’m lucky if I can see Owen for 10 minutes before leaving for the day.  I just got back yesterday from a 4 day trip, and my little boy, who was slowly crawling last week was now racing all around the place on hands and knees at a pretty rapid pace.  I also think that every time I don’t see him for a day or 2, he looks so much bigger when I get home.  I feel like any day now he’s going to go from crawling to walking and from gibberish sounds to talking and I just don’t want to miss out on any of it.  Obviously I need to continue working, but it’s just a little sad to miss some of these things.

The other night while I was away I was at dinner and looking through pictures on my phone and was shocked at how tiny Owen used to be and how different he looked, not all that long ago.  It’s amazing that this child is the same one now who crawls and cruises around the house now, making all sorts of funny noises, smiling and laughing all day.  Not that we’re anywhere close to adding to our family, but I can understand why people miss this stage and want to do it again.  And I know we will some day.

4 responses to “He Says… Missing Out

  1. owen sure has grown! my husband is like you; gone a TON!! but you know babies definitely know who their daddy’s are and there is a bond there that is untouchable. you might miss a few developments but i bet it is absolutely priceless seeing owen’s face light up when you get home!!!

  2. Those are precious baby pictures!!

  3. Aww, this is so sweet. I’m a stay at home mom and my husband works hard to support us so even though he doesn’t travel like you he does sometimes feel that he’s missing out.

    Your son will love and appreciate every part of what you’re doing for the family.

    Oh, and I totally relate about having more kids to fulfill that ‘baby’ need! I’m starting to get baby fever already.

  4. It’s amazing how fast things can change at this point in their lives. Cherish every minute you have with you’re little man 🙂

Leave a Reply

