Daily Archives: April 7, 2011

She Says… Stepping Stone

Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd… we’re crawling!

Last night after daycare Owen and I were scooching and squirming on the floor and he flipped onto his tummy (like he always does) and reached and stretched for a toy (like he always does). Generally he reaches for awhile, realizes he can’t quite touch the toy, then throws his arm over his head and rolls over to squirm himself closer to the thing. Or maybe he sees something, anything, that he can pull up on to get him to a standing position so he can reach it better after taking a few [assisted] steps. Somewhere in this process he usually loses interest in whatever he was trying to reach, and my attempts to help him figure out how to crawl are in vain. He gurgles happily as he is satisfied by trying to eat his feet or staring at his own hands. What can I say? He’s easily placated :)

But last night he rolled onto his tummy and played there for awhile, and then, as I coaxed him forward with a musical toy and the promise of being able to climb into  my lap, he took his first little “crawls”.

Well, not exactly.

It was more like a downward facing dog on the move, or a “wounded soldier” scramble than a crawl.

Here’s how it went down: He pushed up on his arms and back onto his knees in crawling position. Then he dug his toes into the ground and straightened his legs so he was on his toes with his butt in the air. Then he sort of walked with his feet and moved his arms like he was crawling and did a gorilla-esque Jillian Michaels mountain climber move to scramble his way forward. I squealed and he grinned and we were both so excited that he fell over. He hasn’t really replicated it since then, but I think a few more days of practice and he’ll be a little movin’ machine. I wish I had gotten those first little crawls on camera, but I was too busy enjoying them in real life. We’ll catch some of the next ones, I promise. Given the half-walk, half-crawl we’ve got goin’ on, I’m thinking this is less of a milestone and more of a stepping stone. To walking.

According to many other parents, my life is now over.

Although, as I’ve said before, I totally don’t buy that. I’m super excited for this new development, and I think it will alleviate some of the frustration he’s been expressing by not being able to get to things he wants to touch.

Once again, Owen taught me an important lesson that I have learned countless times since he was born. I can guarantee you it won’t be the last time I learn this lesson, but it’s one of the most important things I need to remember as a parent. No matter what I do to push him or encourage him or teach him, he’s going to do things in his own time and in his own way. Here I was putting toys out of his reach and shaking noisemakers to get him to crawl, thinking he would do it on his knees, and he couldn’t have cared less. Once I left him to his own devices, he figured out a unique way to get the job done. And you can bet he was damn proud of himself for doing it on his own, too.

It’s a constant lesson, tiny man, that it’s totally not about me. Or what I think I know. Or what I want. Or when I want it. It’s all about you. And you, sweet pea, are amazing.