She Says… Food, Glorious Food

Eating has always been one of Owen’s favorite pasttimes. Yes, we had issues with nursing and breastfeeding, but eating food has always been a highlight of his day. Gee, I have NO idea where he gets that from.

I recently had a reader (Hi, Megan!) ask me to post about Owen’s eating and how it has progressed since we started solids. Happy to oblige.

We started “solids” super early with Owen. 4 months and 5 days, if my blog is correct. His first food was avocado mixed with breastmilk, and he gobbled it right up. At that point we did food midday, between bottles, whenever it was convenient. I think I started by doing it every other day, and then slowly got into the routine of doing it once every day. For the first few weeks he ate only avocado, peas, butternut squash and brown rice cereal. At almost 5 months I figured out I had excess lipase in my breastmilk, and breastmilk was still giving Owen reflux issues, and I was about to go back to work, so I made the decision to switch him to formula full-time. I wanted to make sure that the switch to formula wasn’t eliminating subtle flavors that Owen enjoyed, so I took his solid food to the next step.

At 5 months he was eating 2 solid meals a day, in addition to 4 bottles, and his repertoire had expanded to include oats, carrots, apples, prunes, bananas, green beans and sweet potatoes. Each meal was 2-3 food “cubes” (frozen ice cube tray sized cubes of pureed food, I think about an ounce each) with some oats or rice to thicken it into a paste. Instead of keeping foods separate, I started to mix and match. Even weird combinations. Anything to change the flavor slightly to give his taste buds something new. Apples and green beans? Sure. Sweet potatoes and avocado? Yum. Peas and oats? Delish.

By 6 months Owen had graduated to 3 meals a day, and honestly sometimes he would not even give me an “all done” sign like turning his head or pursing his lips. This kid could eat, eat, eat all day long. I imagine that if we’d actually kept feeding him we would eventually find the bottom of his little stomach, but I would usually cut him off after a bowl (or two) of food. I started making all kinds of foods to mix with the ones he’d already eaten. Spinach, white beans, lentils, yogurt, chicken, pears, blueberries, peaches, corn. He gobbled every single new thing I made him. There isn’t a single food he has refused (YET!). The mixtures got more and more fun as he consistently ate 3 food cubes at each meal. I could make little “complete meals” like chicken and sweet potatoes and green beans. Lentils and butternut squash and peas. I started adding spices like turmeric, cinnamon, and garlic. They were like little science experiments, mixing and matching and adding a dash of this and a pinch of that.

Now, at 8 months, a new development. I’ve been giving him chunkier purees for the last 2 months to try to encourage him to “chew” (aka gum, since he doesn’t have teeth yet) and to tolerate thicker textures. For awhile he would NOT tolerate chunks, and would do this very dramatic heaving/gagging when a single pea or blob of chicken escaped the food processor blade and made its way into his mouth. Finally something clicked, and he figured out how to moosh solid food between his gums. So now, in addition to three bowls of 3 food cubes a day, he’s also putting back a handful of puffs or bites of bread. Oh, and 28+ ounces of formula. Despite how much food he eats, he never really cut back on his formula ounces (he was drinking 30+ ounces of formula at 6 months!).

I know “they” say that babies under 1 only need formula or breastmilk to meet their nutritional needs. But I gotta tell you, I’m pretty certain Owen would be starving without his 3 meals a day. He is a HUNGRY kid. Lord help me when he gets to be a teenager.

As I mentioned a few posts ago, I’ve noticed that his cheeks turn bright red and get hot after he eats bread, so I’m presuming that he has a sensitivity to wheat. Neither Benjamin nor I have any food allergies, so I followed the AAP recommendations to introduce wheat at 8 months (ok for non-allergenic babies). I’m pretty sure it’s a reaction to the wheat since it happened about 30 minutes after he ate, and lasted only for a few hours. But we’ve only tried twice and I am not 100% certain that’s the issue. Has anyone else had this happen or dealt with similar food sensitivities? Did they turn into lifelong allergies, or were they just a baby thing?

Any ideas for other finger foods I can introduce that don’t contain wheat (just to be careful for now, until I ask the doctor about the possibility of a sensitivity/allergy)? Last night I made some mixed veggies and offered him individual peas and pieces of carrots. He did NOT like the way that they didn’t mush up in his mouth like the puffs and bites of soft bread, so I’m thinking he’s not quite ready for veggies. What else can I give him? The kid loves to eat 🙂

34 responses to “She Says… Food, Glorious Food

  1. My baby loves all finger food (anything she can hold herself). I’ve given her pretzel rods, pita chips, puffs, pancake, scrambled egg, and pasta. She’s even had pickles (she loves them). Once they start gumming things, you can give him anything soft. The pretzel rods and pita chips are for teething, she just sucks on those mostly. I think she might like salt as much as me!

  2. This might be a dumb question, but is there wheat in pasta? Because my son loved pastina–it’s little tiny star-shaped pasta. I would cook it in low-sodium chicken broth until it was kind of soupy (might have to add some more broth or water as you go along and it absorbs) and then add parmesan cheese and basil if I had it. And, um, usually gave half to him and ate half myself. 🙂 Or for finger food, rotini pasta, cooked until soft, with some cheese and/or butter. That shape is easy for them to pick up.

    Also, sliced banana and cheese are a big hit in my house. I buy the little individually-wrapped cheese rectangles and break them up into pieces. Easy for on-the-go, too.

    And this is just a warning, not in a snarky “I’ve been there” way, but because it totally caught me off guard. My son was a champion eater just like you describe Owen–would eat anything and everything. And then somewhere around 11 months or so, he hit a picky phase. Started throwing food on the floor, refusing to eat, you name it. Kind of made me panic a little, but it turns out it’s totally common for that age. So if your champion eater suddenly gets picky–don’t worry. (maybe you’ll be lucky and miss that phase–fingers crossed for you!!)

  3. I skip wheat for the first year, just to be safe…so we’re still wheat free with Wes. He is LOVING gumming on very ripe cantaloupe – I cut it into the crescent-moon shape (does that have a name? I’m blanking!) and then slice thin bits off it horizontally, rind and all. He gums on the tasty fruit and then has lots of fund decorating the floor with the rinds. I’ve also given him bits of wheat-free muffins and “cookies” – often I make up the recipe, but it normally involves ground up oats or buckwheat, mashed bananas, pumpkin, or pureed prunes or raisins for sweetness, flax “eggs,” rice milk, cinnamon, and a dash of baking soda or power to help it raise a bit. They aren’t something I would serve to company, but they are nutritious and he loves them – and can feed himself, which gives me a little break! (I have even mixed in grated zucchini and/or carrot for an extra burst of nutrients). Ashley (edibleperspective.com) makes a ton of gluten-free, healthy bakes – try her buckwheat bakes – the whole family liked them!
    Also, I’ve tried gluten-free pasta – he seemed to have trouble working through it – but that is an option. Have fun with the experiments – it sounds like you approach baby food in the same way that I do! good times….

  4. @Sue, I appreciate hearing that, it will help me prepare for that stage if/when it comes. I’ve read about it happening at that age. Sounds like it is an evolutionary thing that has stuck with us — as little ones learn to walk, they become more skeptical of what they should eat, and with good reason, if they were wandering around eating berries and whatnot. It will no doubt come as a surprise to me, though, given my experience with Owen so far. I’m sure some people with older children reading this post are thinking, “She has no clue what she’s in for”. 🙂

  5. Hi K ate & fellow readers
    My son is 7 months and 1 week. I have been reading Kate’s blog since around August, when I too was diagnosed with PCOS. On our second attempt at IUI, we were blessed with our miracle.
    Noah is a great kid. Perfect in every way. But he refuses to eat. My pediatrician recommended we wait until 6 months to start solids. So despite my little guy being a bigger guy (born at 9lb8.9 oz and 20.6lb at 6 months), I waited. I wish I hadn’t now, b/c I almost feel like he has become too comfortable and accustomed to the bottle.
    I was so excited to start solids. I planned on making him all his food myself. I even e-mailed you Kate a few weeks ago to ask about using a KitchenAid food processor, which was not BPA free, to blend the food. Anyway, we began with rice cereal. We got him to eat a little bit, but he wouldn’t open his mouth for it. I won’t say I forced it on him, but I would try to wiggle the spoon in there. He just kept his lips tightly sealed, sang a little “mmm-ing” and twisted his wrist, constantly. He didn’t seem allergic, so after 2 days, we tried homemade sweet potatos. Deja vu. After a couple of days, and although I really wanted to begin with veggies, I tried banana. Again, he refused to open his mouth. I called the pediatrician and they advised me to wait a few days and then try again. I did and it didn’t work. After a few more weeks of feeding him by wiggling the spoon in, I called the pediatrician again. Now I was told to just keep going. So I continue. We have tried a variety of fruits and are now onto vegetables. I’m no longer making my own food, for now, since he barely eats and I can’t seem to get the right consistency when I make it myself.
    Oh we were also told to try puffs. As soon as anything that is not milk or puree hits the back of his mouth, he throws up. Puffs, 1/2 of a cheerio, smooshed up banana; even apple juice. I just don’t get it.
    Has anyone ever dealt with this? Does anyone have any advice?
    I look forward to the day when Noah actually opens his mouth and enjoys eating. It is so upsetting to see him really dislike eating. Plus I don’t want him to have a negative association with the highchair and/or spoon. I just don’t know what to do.

  6. Have you tried bits of cheese or tofu? Those are pretty soft.

  7. Recipe Chefs

    Great post thanks for sharing. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our delicious recipes

  8. Perfect example of how different every baby truly is. My little guy is STILL only drinking 20-25oz (which I had to work on to get him to drink!) and is eating two solid meals a day (since he’s not really drinking enough for me to justify the 3rd) and he’s a heavy little guy! It’s been a month and a half since he’s been weighed but was verging on 21 lbs at 6 months! You would think that for a bigger baby, he’d almost “need” more food but nope! And here you have Owen who is just a little guy and he’s got a hollow leg! lol

    @Michelle: Have you looked into “baby led weaning”? I’m not sure because I haven’t done it with Cameron but I believe that the introduction of solids is a lot more gradual in this case because it is left up to the baby to take in solids at their own pace beginning with finger foods. Maybe it’s something worth looking into. That way the more solids he begins to eat on his own when he’s ready will naturally balance out between his milk intake & solids. Just a thought!

  9. I’ve read that blueberries are a great finger food… they can be cut in half (which seems like it might be a little bit of a pain.) Haven’t started finger foods with my son yet, as he just doesn’t seem quite ready, but I have given him a few carrot sticks to gnaw on when his non-teeth seem to be bugging him.

  10. Kate, I’m glad you posted this. I’ve been wondering about how you feed Owen because I’ve read how you feed him beans and lentils and everything. So you’re still pureeing all foods, including the beans, chicken, etc? Nora is only 6.5 months now, so we are still toward the beginning of our solids journey with her (we started her on them for “practice” when she was a week or so past 5 months old).

    Like Owen, Nora has eaten everything we’ve presented her with (so far)–pears, apples, bananas, avocado, mango, peas, carrots, sweet potatoes, butternut squash, etc. At first, I was doing what you do–using the fruit/veggie as the bulk of the meal, and thickening it up with baby cereal (whole grain rice or oatmeal).

    At Nora’s six-month MD appt, though, our doctor said that I should instead be using the cereal as the bulk of her meal (she emphasized 4-5 tbsp. of cereal per meal) and then using the fruit/veggies only to add a little flavor. She says it’s because the cereal is fortified with all of the nutrients Nora needs at this age. This is counter-intuitive to me, because I’d rather be feeding her more of the fruits/veggies and less of the grains. Why wouldn’t I want her to eat more of the natural stuff, instead of the processed stuff?

    Anyway, I’m wondering if this is something I’m dealing with because I’m still breastfeeding and breastmilk doesn’t have a lot of iron. Because with formula-fed babies, they get the iron they need from the formula, right? Hmmm.

    I’m tempted to “go my own way” with this and trust my instincts as a mother, but I also don’t want to end up malnourishing my babe in anyway.

  11. this is to michelle: MY SON HATED EATING FOR 2 AND A HALF MONTHS!! Only now at 8.5 months will he actually open his mouth for food. Yes his growth has slowed and maybe he’s not all that hungry, but he is stubborn and definitely knows how to clench his mouth shut (which he still does for avocados, peas and squash). i can’t say he’s ever thrown up like you said noah does, but he would flat out refuse to “open open” as i always requested. just be patient and keep trying (i’d try solids 3 x a day even when it seemed like i would have to throw out 99% of the food afterwards); when he’s hungry enough, he’ll open wide. even now, blaine only eats about half an ice-cube of solid food per “meal”.

  12. @Michelle–
    Every baby is different. Yours just might not be ready yet. Try not to stress about it; he WILL start eating eventually. I had some trouble with my daughter at first, but after about 2-3 weeks of trying EVERY.DAY., something just clicked. At first, she was doing the same thing as your baby–closing her mouth and refusing to even try anything. All of a sudden, one morning, it was like magic–she started opening up and eating, enjoyed it, and ate the entire bowl. Whoa.

    What your pedi says is true. Just keep trying. And if you haven’t already, try to vary the times of day that you’re trying. Sometimes I would try between nursing sessions, and other times I would try when she was due for a meal. Sometimes I would try in the evenings, sometimes in the mornings. For what it’s worth, the feeding when it just “clicked” for her happened to be first thing in the morning. Good luck! He will get it soon.

  13. Eli eats all kinds of finger foods… he’s 9.5 months. He eats cut up bananas , strawberries, blueberries (in half), pears, avocado (a little slippery, but he figures it out!), broccoli, zucchini and scrambled egg yolks just to name a few. I also buy cheese cubes or cheese sticks and cut them into a smaller size for him. I chunk up chicken breast, I make little soft meatballs out of ground chicken… all kinds of stuff.

    At some point, a few weeks ago, I realized that anything that we eat that doesn’t have a lot of salt or any nuts in it, I can give to him. He is a little human after all! So, often, whatever we’ve had for dinner will be his dinner the next night… I just cut it or mash it for him!

  14. Hi Kate! Love the blog – started reading it via your hubby’s Facebook page, actually – Ben and I knew each other back in our high school theatre days! 🙂 Definitely try little cubes of tofu for Owen. My son went nuts over that when he was Owen’s age. Of course, he’s 2.5 now and has a very strong (and loud) opinion about what he does and doesn’t like – but in those blissful “he’ll eat whatever I put in front of him” days, tofu was a big hit! Steamed zucchini always worked well, if we steamed it til it was pretty mushy. And small, very ripe banana pieces, since those mush pretty easily between the gums. Zucchini and banana are still two of his absolute faves! Have fun! I loved the beginnings of the eating adventure!

  15. Thank you so much for all your ideas and advice! I definitely appreciate the help and will give all of your ideas a shot! I actually have thought about the “baby led weaning” approach in terms of maybe he just wants more solid food rather than pureed, but in the wake of our experiments with the puffs/cheerios/banana (i.e. throwing up afterward), I’m definitely hesitant to try anything else. I will keep on keeeping on with the pureed stuff 3x a day and of course his formula/breastmilk. I try to get him up to at least 35oz a day since I can’t really be sure what he is actually getting in terms of the “solids”. Hopefully I will have good news to share soon! How can you express to your son/daughter that if only they’d open their mouths, their time in the highchair would be some much more pleasant and painless and they may actually enjoy the food? Haha. I don’t know about your children, but mine is crazy for Mickey and the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, so I find myself singing pretty much every single song I know from the show just to get him to loosen up those lips, even a bit. It doesn’t really work but it’s all I have right now. LOL!
    Again, thanks so much for all your kind words and helpful hints! I really appreciate it!

  16. It’s not technically a cereal (I think) but puffed rice is a good, non-wheat, mushes in saliva and gumming, finger food.

  17. Thanks for the post Kate!!

  18. Hi Kate! Thank you so much for posting this! I think that you were responding to me! Woo hoo – I feel like a celebrity! 🙂 I truly love your blog – you are so helpful. And since our babies are only 4 days apart it is perfect!
    You are a rockstar with baby food. I am also making my own, but my daughter can only seem to eat about 2 solid meals a day without cutting into her milk intake. (The ped said we cannot decrease until 9 months, so until then 2 meals it is). One meal is cereal and the other is a fruit/veggie/yogurt. I tried lentils and rice with her and it was a big fail. She spat everything out and wouldn’t eat it at all. Needless to say, my husband and I “enjoyed” pureed lentils and rice afterwards. I am also thinking she does not tolerate chunkier purees.
    We tried giving her some cut up banana to try a finger food, but she couldn’t really pick it up. I am so glad to have new ideas of things to try. I am also afraid that she is going to choke. How do you know how big to make the pieces?
    Thanks again, Kate! You are the best!

  19. The wheat issue could go several ways. I had a fairly severe wheat allergy has a child, but I outgrew it around middle school. My older daughter seemed to have digestive issues with wheat when we introduced it around 12 months, so we held off for another couple of months and she was fine. Maybe little Owen’s system just needs to mature a little more! (I’ve got my fingers crossed for you because wheat allergies are no fun!) Some of the reading that I have done on real/whole foods says that grains are actually some of the hardest things for our bodies to digest. Although I don’t agree with all her conclusions, I found Nina Planck’s book “Real Food for Mother and Baby” fascinating, especially the info about babies’ digestive systems. With my second daughter, we are really holding back on grains for this first year.

    @Heather mentioned her pediatrician wanting her daughter’s meals to be mostly cereal…I think that is probably because of it being fortified with iron or other nutrients. In our situation, my 9-month old loves salmon, egg yolk, greens and other veggies,, fruit, beef, chicken, beans (ok, she basically loves everything…for now!). 🙂 So, we aren’t worried about her missing nutrients added to cereal and I think that the nutrients she is getting are easier for her to absorb because they occur naturally in the food. That’s just what is working for us–hope it helps a bit!

  20. We started BLW at six months with Elle, and some of her favorite finger foods (because like Owen, she doesn’t have teeth, either) are pear, strawberries, sweet potato fries and pasta (like rotini) with a little bit of cheese sauce. She also ADORES carbs – she hasn’t met a waffle/English muffin/bagel/piece of bread that she hasn’t destroyed. It took about 10 days for her to get the whole “swallowing won’t kill me” concept – she would gag every time, and I could totally understand why, as she went from only breast milk to all of a sudden actual, solid food. But now she’s a champ and seems to really rely on her solid meals (we feed her solids twice a day, and she’ll be 8 months old tomorrow) as an addition to nursing/bottle feeding BM 4-5 times a day. We also give her Stonyfield’s Yo Baby Organic yogurt, and she gets SO excited when she sees the container – her arms start waving and her legs start kicking, and she leans in for the spoon.

  21. Cheese is a great finger food! I started by giving my daughter tiny shreds and then progressed. She also loves to feed herself scrambled eggs. Another favorite is banana since it’s mushy. Melon and mango are good too but hard for them to pick up since they can be slippery. I would recommend taking the peas out of their casing – it’s really simple just make a little hole with your finger and push it out – that way it’s much easier to gum. Tilapia also went down really easily and it’s very simple for them to pick up, another one of her favorites. Hope that helps!

  22. Awesome comments, everyone! Thank you for your suggestions and your helpful tips to other readers. Can’t wait to try cheese, fish, zucchini and tofu with Owen!

  23. My firstborn had the same reaction with wheat so I held off on it until he was a preschooler because there was some concern around celiac disease (which I have.) He turned out to be a kid with many allergies and asthma despite being breastfed for 2 years (so much for that theory!) Anyway, he seems to have outgrown it although, since I am celiac, I wish all my kids would get tested but, since they are now young adults, they make their own decisions so it is up to them.

  24. We do BLW, so we tend to do big chunks as opposed to small bites, but this handy rule of thumb should hold true, all the same: Anything you can “mush” between your thumb and forefinger should be fine to give to baby regardless of teeth (and I totally didn’t intend for that pun at all, sorry!) At 6 months, we would give our son whole, peeled apples and pears and let him go to down gumming on them and you’d be surprised at how much he was able to eat with just his gums!

    @Heather– While certainly you should talk with your doctor, I would trust your instincts. The iron in breastmilk is absorbed much better than the iron added to formula or cereal. See KellyMom for more info: http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/vitamins/iron.html

    This is anecdotal, but perhaps it will give you some peace of mind: We have done BLW with our son since he was 6 months old and he has never had cereal and his iron levels were totally fine at his 9 month appointment. This seems to be the trend on BLW boards and such that I am on, so I think the way you are doing it is probably just fine 🙂

  25. looks like you’ve gotten lots of advice already, but meredith’s favorite snack is freeze dried mango from trader joe’s. it’s essentially the same texture as puffs, but it’s pure mango. i just cut it up into baby bite size pieces.

  26. You guys have been so helpful, I have another question. I bought Ella’s Kitchen Organic Apples & Strawberries and wanted to try that. He has had apples (although not really willingly) and was fine. Is it ok to give a 7month old strawberries?

  27. @Michelle, I vote yes! I waited for awhile on berries too, although I’m not entirely sure why. I think after 6 months the doors open a bit wider with what you can try. As far as I know, strawberries are not super high on the list of allergenic foods. But since it’s a new food, watch your little one carefully after feeding him to watch for reactions.

  28. Thanks Kate! I’m nervous but strawberries are so good, I’m hoping it will be the thing that gets him to open up that mouth! My husband and I are not allergic to strawberries, or anything for that matter, so I’m hoping that means Noah is less likely to be allergic as well.

  29. I just saw this post and the comments. Michelle — you may want to be careful about strawberries. We gave them to my son around 9 months and then he had hives on and off for an entire weekend. Our doctor recommended that we go to the hospital just to have them listen to his breathing. Then, we had to have a follow-up with our office a couple of days later. In the course of both of those visits with doctors, nurses, etc. and talking with doctor-moms in a mom’s group I am, we ended up mentioning about a dozen times that we gave Finn strawberries. Every person stared at us with an open mouth and was like, “Um, strawberries are highly allergenic and often give children hives.” The allergic reaction is almost never severe, rarely goes past hives, but I did feel pretty embarrassed to have given him something that was so high on the allergen list. He eats every other type of berry with no problem, but from what I gather, the strawberry allergy is very common.

  30. @Perrin, Thank you! I had no idea!

  31. @ Perrin, Oh my goodness! Thanks for the warning! I actually called my pediatrician yesterday too, b/c after reading so many conflicting things, I figured I should just call (I, by the way, am THE biggest pest ever! LOL! I must have called the pediatrician 1 million times about Noah’s uninterested demeanor towards food). Anyway, she said it would be ok to give him the prepared baby food with strawberries as opposed to fresh strawberries since the process of cooking the strawberries reduces whatever it is about strawberries that is allergenic. She just said to make sure we had benadryl in the house and to call if we notice any reactions. After that call, although she said it was ok, I opted not to try to it out just yet. When I do, I will try it first thing in the morning, on a weekday, so that my parents (who thankfully watch Noah for my husband and I during the week since we both work), can keep all eyes on him and we know the doctor’s office is open. I’d also like to mention that the idea of needing to use benadryl or any kind of medicine kind of scares me b/c that is yet another thing Noah hates and throws up just about every time we give it to him. We have given him baby tylenol after shots, and he throws up, almost immediately. The same thing happened with his vitamins. I actually had to stop giving him his vitamin, b/c he threw it up every. single. time. The doctor gave me a prescription for fluoride after his 6 month appointment, but I’m so afraid to give it to him. I fear the day he starts to teethe or needs benadryl or any type of similar medicine for comfort since he won’t take it. I guess I’ll have to use a suppository. Poor kid.

  32. Oh wow, Michelle, that is great to know about the fresh/prepared strawberries. My husband had given our son fresh ones! Both of the kids
    love organic soy yogurt and we have been frantically keeping the strawberry ones away from our son and only giving him peach yogurt. I feel better knowing that if he gets a strawberry one he might not get hives!

  33. This is in response to Michelle:
    My son wouldn’t eat any type of solid or chunky consistency food at a year old. If we put a cherio or puff in his mouth he would just spit it out. It became an issue and the pediatrician sent him to a speech therapist to help him it (who knew they did those issues too). After about 5 sesssions, he was eating! Turns out he had a weak suck reflux and was just a lazy eater (nothing anatomically was wrong). So, if it doesn’t get better on its own- even though it probably will- at the 1 year check up talk to the doctor and there are things you can do!

  34. @ Amy- Thanks for sharing. I’m so glad to know that the speech therapist was able to help your son! I had been doing some research and using a speech therapist and/or occupational therapist have come up a number of times. Do you mind me asking what the speech therapist did to help your son? Did your son throw up after eating a puff or just spit it out? If this is still happening by his next check up, I definitely plan on mentioning it to my pediatrician and I will ask about the speech therapist. Thanks for the advice and I’m so glad that the speech therapist was able to help your son!

Leave a Reply

