He Says… This is just bizarro

So, thanks to reader Liss, who commented that she saw our video on the Australian Today Show, I found the video on line and am posting it here (at least until they pull it from Youtube).

Craziness, right?  Certainly we think this is cool/weird/annoying.  I guess at this point I think we want a chance to speak on the other side, our side, since, so far all of this reporting has been rather one-sided.  They’ve clearly made no attempts to contact people to find out why they are doing this.  Also, I love how they talk about these videos as if they are live to Youtube.  The “reporters” comment on the woman who says she hasn’t told her husband yet.  My guess is that he found out before her video went online.  Duh.

In other news, Kate is in NYC for a few days for work so it’s me, Owen and Schnitzel holding down the fort.  He was so great last night and in a wonderful mood.  Look at how I found him when I picked him up at daycare yesterday:

9 responses to “He Says… This is just bizarro

  1. Hey Benjamin – thanks for posting this. I was curious when I saw Liss’ comment.

    It’s interesting – so many of the commenters in these articles talk bout how it’s inappropriate for people to become public about their pregnancy in their early stages because it is still early and there is a lot of risk. But I wonder why we are all so worried about other people’s risks? Is it that we don’t want to deal with the emotional upheaval that will happen if they miscarry?

    I just keep thinking that there are probably so many women out there that are carrying the burden and grief of miscarriage on their shoulders and feel like they cannot tell anyone because they were only a few weeks pregnant and weren’t supposed to tell anyone anyway …

    I don’t know. My husband and I are a few years from having children so maybe I’m not understanding the emotions. Just food for thought.

  2. regardless of what they are saving, YOU ARE WORLD FAMOUS NOW!! 🙂 but in all honesty, it is ridiculous what they are saying about this whole wombtube thing because it is being taken so out of context.

  3. I love that pic of Owen! My baby always sleeps with her face mashed down on the mattress so I can’t get a pic like that 🙂

    It could be worse: they could have made the video into a song like the Bed Intruder song 🙂

  4. Gah! I love Owen’s little cheeks and his sweet little nose!

  5. Ah yes, the Today show – the epitome of journalistic integrity. Not. It’s a magazine TV show targeting the lowest common denominator. Their general fodder is sensationalism so I’m not surprised there wasn’t any digging to find out the real story behind those videos.

    I still maintain that your pregnancy test video was one of the best things I’ve ever seen online (perhaps second only to “I’m F*cking Matt Damon”!) and it gave me hope when really needed it.

    PS: Owen is adorable. ADORABLE.

  6. Argh, they drive me nuts, and seeing the other side to what they’re reporting on (or rather, repeating blindly from another source) has really pushed my dislike for the show to a whole new level.
    It was kind of weird to see the video on TV here. Kind of like how I was surprised to read my name in today’s post. 😛

    To the important matters, though – I giggled at the picture because Owen looks like he’s concentrating hard on sleeping. It’s a tough job. 🙂

  7. It is crazy! This is my local (Australian) news, and they can get a bit annoying about these things. But seriously, they don’t understand! We have a great community of mums here on YT, and whats the difference between that and sharing everything anyway at a monthers group? I know Emma (The chick who hadn’t told her hubby) and she has had a long journey to her baby daughter through infertility. I can bet you that she appreciated the support of many woman going through the same thing month after month when she got her BFN’s. Grrr, news sucks.

  8. That picture is absolutely precious! It is making me melt!

Leave a Reply

