Daily Archives: March 10, 2011

She Says… The Song That Never Ends

This is the song sickness that never ends… it just goes on and on my friends…

Ok, I apologize for getting that song stuck in your head. Seriously. That’s one of the worst songs EVER to have stuck in your head. If you don’t know it, consider yourself incredibly fortunate.

I’ve written many times before about what we like to call “the daycare plague”, which is the cycle of colds and sniffles and low-grade fevers and bugs that seems to never end once your baby starts daycare. Here’s the thing, though. It’s not entirely fair to blame it all on daycare (even though it makes me feel better). If Owen didn’t get germs from daycare, he would undoubtedly get them from grocery carts and toys that have fallen on the floor and the dog and playdates and the doctor’s office waiting room and me and Benjamin. And even if I kept him in a little protective bubble until he was 4, he’d get them from school evenutally. And at that point, my theory is that he’d be hit HARD since he never built up immunity. So I realize that these little bugs and germs are actually helping Owen out in the long run. In the short run, however, I am so over having a sweet baby with a runny nose and a cough that won’t really go away. Not to mention a whole family that goes through tissues like they’re going out of style.

Owen’s fever from last weekend has been gone since Sunday, but now the nasal congestion has morphed into a wheezing/coughing. I kind of preferred when he had a fever and his nose was clogged… at least then I wasn’t worry about asthmatic breathing and coughing/choking. Last night his little hacking cough was so sad to listen to. He seems not to be bothered by it at all (he was sleeping right through the coughing), but I have a call into the doctor right now because it really bothers ME. Breathing issues are no joke, and though I’m not sure what exactly they could do for him even if they heard the wheeze I’m hearing, I just feel better when I’ve asked a nurse a barrage of questions.

Yuck. Someone please tell me this will all go away when the weather turns warmer? I just started reading “Pictures of You” by Caroline Leavitt which, from what I’ve read so far, involves a 9 year old boy who suffers from asthma that he got unexpectedly when he was 4. Of course now I can’t stop thinking about Owen’s little wheeze and if it’s something more than just the gunk leftover from his cold/virus. I’m sure it’s just the virus working its way out, but it’s always fun to worry about something new, right?