Daily Archives: March 8, 2011

She Says… My Dirty Little Secret

Here it is, folks: I HATE doing dishes.

I will do just about anything NOT to do dishes. I hate them so much, I may have even written a post about it before. I honestly can’t remember. I would do just about any other chore before I would choose to do dishes. Scrub a toilet? Sure, no problem! Clean the windows? Hells yeah. Vacuum under the bed? Yes, please.

I’m not really sure what it is about dishes that I hate so much. Maybe it’s that I don’t like my hands to be wet when the rest of me is not wet (like in the shower). I don’t like that sticky feeling after you wash your hands and the towel doesn’t get all the water off either. Or when you have to use wimpy hand dryers in an airport bathroom or something like that. Yuck. Perhaps it also has something to do with touching all that mushy, soaking wet food. Double yuck.

Anyway, when Benjamin is away, I get a lot of things done. Yesterday, for instance, I took the dog for a walk (with Owen, in the rain), washed and folded (!!!) 3 loads of laundry, meal planned for the week and went to the grocery store, put away all of the groceries, and had some awesomely fun playtimes with Owen before handling the night time routine single-handedly. I even made Owen’s meals and filled out his drop-off sheet for a quick daycare departure in the morning.

Do you know what didn’t get done? DISHES.

Generally I have no problem letting the dishes pile up until Benjamin gets home (unless he’s gone for several days at a time, then that’s just gross). But since Owen came into our lives, a new element has been added to the nightly dish routine: Bottles. Washing bottles is even more irritating to me than normal dishes. So many nooks and crannies. We use these special bottles that have a uniquely shaped nipple that Owen preferred when we were dealing with his tongue tie/reflux issues. The bottles consist of a top, a nipple, a nipple ring, a bottle “middle”, a plastic valve, and a screw-on base. He drinks 4 bottles a day, so that’s a lot of parts! I’d be fine with letting these pile up in the sink too (don’t judge), except we only have 4 of them, so they have to be washed every night. It’s actually great to have exactly the number we need, because we clean them every night, and I “build” them all in the morning so they are good to go for the day. And we don’t need to sacrifice a cabinet in our kitchen for bottle storage. The downside, of course, is that I STILL have to wash them, even when Benjamin’s gone.

So last night, instead of just washing the stupid bottles, I ran the dishwasher. Despite the fact that it was run the night before. And since I was the only one home and ate leftovers straight out of the ‘fridge for dinner (stop judging), the dishwasher was practically empty, even with all of the bottle parts. So I did what any normal person who didn’t want to do dishes would do: I made more dishes. I made some butternut squash and lentils for baby food (hey, it was on my to do list) and put the pots and food processor and spoons and everything right in the dishwasher.

Then I didn’t feel so bad about running the dishwasher two nights in a row. And I killed two birds with one stone! I’ll be the first to admit, this was not the first time I deliberately dirtied dishes just to run the dishwasher. What? It gets the job done, right?

Thankfully, my dish washer comes home today :) I have missed him!

What about you? What’s the one chore you would choose to never do again, if you had the choice?