Daily Archives: February 25, 2011

She Says… WINNER and looking for a new daycare

First things first — we have a winner from the Boogie Wipes giveaway! According to random number generator, the winner is #8, Casey. Thanks to everyone who entered! Casey, I’ll email you to get your mailing address.

In other news, I drove out to our new house again yesterday to scope out and visit a new daycare. As soon as we put in the offer on the house I began Googling daycares in the area, because I signed up for daycare while 18 weeks pregnant and my unborn baby STILL did not get the start date he wanted. So I don’t know how people just up and move and find spots in daycares. My mind went into overdrive — maybe they don’t! Maybe we’ll need to get a nanny (which will make working from home really hard, and will probably be more expensive), or I’ll have to take a leave of absence from my job, or we’ll have to continue driving an hour in traffic to our old daycare every morning…

Alas, I really didn’t need to worry so much. Apparently there are more spots to be had out in the ‘burbs, and though several of the daycares I called were full (in the infant rooms, at least), several had spots available. So I picked the one I liked best based on their website and a personal recommendation or two, and set up a tour.

The biggest bonus of this place? It’s walking distance from the new house. That’s right, we may be moving to the ‘burbs and still be walking distance from the town center, the library, the post office, the commuter rail stop, the elementary school AND daycare. That’s truly awesome. In my wildest dreams, I didn’t think that was going to be possible.

The first thing that struck me when I walked in was that it was NOT Kindercare. I adore our current daycare, which is a Kindercare center. I love the wide hallways and glass windows on all the rooms. I love the lined up cubbies and the cribs that line the walls and the tiny tables and chairs in the bigger kids’ rooms. Aesthetics are incredibly important to me, and when I walk into Kindercare every morning, I love how neat and tidy and clean it is. This new daycare had a very different vibe. It is set up in a old mansion, so the rooms are smaller and a little darker and everything seemed a little mismatched and unorganized. That said, they had all the accoutrements necessary for happy, healthy childcare, the kids looked truly happy and the teachers all seemed extremely warm and inviting. I’ve got to say, though, I was put off by the things that were different from our Kindercare.

I was expecting to put money down on the spot; to love the new place as much as I had loved Kindercare when we first went there. I felt sort of ambivalent about it, though, so I kept my checkbook in my purse and took the information home with me to think about it.

As I was leaving I saw a mom putting her baby in a carseat and I asked her what she thought of the place. She said, hands down, it was the best. possible. place. she could have sent her kids. She has a 3 year old and a 6 month old, and she said the teachers are outstanding and the place as a whole is a really great community.

Perhaps I should get over my comparisons to Kindercare and sign the papers. It sounds fantastic. The kids learn Spanish and American Sign Language every day, are exposed to things like Mandarin and yoga and Zumba a few times a month, and they have visiting groups like puppeteers and scientists. Sounds awesome, right?

On the way home as tears pricked my eyes as I thought about switching daycares, I realized that I think I’m going to find something wrong with every daycare other than my current daycare. I just love them. And it IS going to be hard to switch Owen to somewhere new, but they will get to know him and love him the same way that our current daycare has.

It’s just a matter of time.