She Says… Boogers x 2 and GIVEAWAY

When Owen first started daycare a few weeks ago I blogged about how disgusting the kids were with boogers streaking down their faces. People kept telling me how the first year or two (or three) of daycare are rough, and that Owen would have a constant cold. They joked about how our whole family would go through it, and just when we thought we were getting over an illness, another one would come along. Hardy har har. I guess I believed them, but I also had a bit of an invincibility syndrome. I thought, “They’re probably right, but I’m sure it won’t be that bad” or “That won’t happen to us; I almost never get sick”.

Ummm, I was wrong. They were right. ‘Nuff said.

After his first week there, Owen came down with his first illness. It hit him pretty hard, but he [mostly] recovered after some meds and a week of extra cuddles. Shortly after that I got a stuffy nose and a cough for a few days. Since then I’ve been feeling ok, but never really shook the snotty nose and sinus pressure. Over the last few days Owen seemed to be getting worse rather than better (he, too, never entirely shook the congestion). And then I started getting worse rather than better. Now we’re quite a pair — both of us full of snot and sneezing like we’re in a cartoon and someone is tickling our noses with a feather.

Enter:

Boogie Wipes are saline wipes that dissolve dried boogers off of little noses without creating dry, chapped skin like tissues. Read: They are magic if your kid is a little booger breeder like Owen. They are made with natural saline and are alcohol, phthalate and paraben free. And for kids who are tissue-phobic, they even come in fun scents like grape and menthol.

The Boogie Moms (Boogie Wipes creators and “mompreneurs”) were kind enough to send me some samples to test out on Owen’s chapped, little nose. I whipped them out as soon as I received them. Verdict: THEY ARE AWESOME. The dried boogers literally dissolve and wipe away, and Owen didn’t even squirm and whip his head around like he does when I use a tissue or burp cloth. I’ll be honest, the grape scent is a bit too, uhh, grapey for my taste. But maybe a 4 year old would differ with me. The unscented, menthol flavor and “Achooz” (Boogie Wipes for adults) are much better, in my opinion!

They are currently sponsoring a cute campaign called Save the Sleeve, which is a fun, interactive way to teach kids about healthy ways to deal with boogers (like not wiping them on their hands or sleeve). Owen’s a bit young for this, but older kids would totally dig it!

Side note: The Boogie Moms are an awesome example of moms who had a great idea and turned it into a successful business. Very inspiring ladies! You can read about them here.

Don’t you wish you had some Boogie Wipes too? It’s February, and it’s been a LONG winter, so I’m guessing the answer is yes. Here’s your chance! The Boogie Moms have offered to send 2 packs of 30-count wipes to a lucky This Place is Now a Home reader. That’s a lot of boogies, my friends.

Here’s what you need to do to enter the giveaway:

1. Show the Boogie Moms some love: Like them on Facebook, follow them on Twitter, join the Save the Sleeve campaign, and/or join the Boogie Bunch.

2. Leave me a comment telling me who in your family needs the boogie wipes and why.

3. Share the good news! If you’re on Twitter, use the button below to tweet about this giveaway. If you have a blog, link back to this post. Leave me another comment letting me know you’ve spread the word.

At the end of the day on Thursday, February 24th we’ll pick a winner (didja catch that boogie reference?!).

29 responses to “She Says… Boogers x 2 and GIVEAWAY

  1. Ooh, I’ve been meaning to try these, and now I think I will! Would love to try with some free ones, though. 😉 I liked them on facebook.

    My 11 month old needs these. He’s in daycare too and is a constant snot factory. He reacts to tissues like I’m wiping his nose with sandpaper, and prefers to just wipe his boogers on my shoulder. Yuck.

  2. I liked them on Facebook! I need a better way to clean boogers off the kid, it’s like a wrestling match every time!

  3. Try the “Fresh” scent– they’re our favs!!

  4. Yes, I prefer the fresh scent too! Little ones have sensitive noses and these Boogie Wipes are genius!

  5. I just “liked” them on Facebook! I could really use them for my youngest, my 6 month old son. He despises when I try to wipe off his nose, which is currently a big snotty mess. If these work as well as you say, that would be AWESOME!

  6. I just liked these on facebook. I would really love to win them for my three year old son and 7 month old daughter. They both go to daycare and always have snotty noses. Love your blog! Melissa

  7. What a cute idea!! I have “liked” them on facebook and would love to win!

  8. I liked them on FB and joined the Boogie Bunch 🙂

  9. Oh, and I would use them for Eli… my 8 month old little man!

  10. I’d heard about these! Great tip! 🙂

  11. I’ve heard good things about these – liked them on facebook!!

    My 2.5 year old needs these. Shes a little booger monster and likes to “share” with her 2 month old twin brothers! ahh!!

  12. I tweeted it too 🙂

  13. I need boogie wipes because I have a 4 yr old in preschool and twin 10 month old girls. The 4 yr old is constantly getting sick and bringing his cooties home to share with his sisters. What a nice big bro, huh??!

  14. We could use some in our house! Charlie (8 months) always had dried boogies even when I run the humidifier at night.

  15. I feel your pain on the daycare “Evil crud” as we call it. It’s been pretty much non-stop for the whole family since September. I had NO idea it would be this rough! Hang in there

  16. We love Boogie Wipes! We always have a couple of packs on hand. I use them instead of baby wipes when we eat out to clean up her face and hands. Love them! I agree, try the Fresh Scent if you’re not a fan of the grape. 🙂

  17. I liked them on facebook! I would love to have these! Jenna’s had a constant cold for the last few months and always has yucky crusties all around her nose and hates for it to be wiped.

  18. My 7 month old needs these terribly! He hates having his nose wiped, and it sounds like these will get them off easily! I need to try these out!!!

  19. I follow you on twitter @ anashct
    email: anashct [at] yahoo [dot] com

  20. I tweeted at http://twitter.com/#!/anashct/status/40396046949564416
    email: anashct [at] yahoo [dot] com

  21. I follow boogiewipes on twitter @ anashct
    email: anashct [at] yahoo [dot] com

  22. i joined the boogie wipes bunch

  23. my toddlers need these cause they get sick much!

  24. I blogged about your giveaway here http://blogcontests365.blogspot.com/

    anashct at yahoo dot com

  25. Pingback: Tweets that mention She Says… Boogers x 2 and GIVEAWAY | This Place Is Now a Home -- Topsy.com

  26. My 4 month old started daycare 3 weeks ago. On Thursday of week 2 we got that call that she was very congested needless to say 2 doctors appointments later and 4 days out of daycare we are a boogie wiping machine!

  27. I followed BoogieMoms on twitter. My 5 mo baby girl could definitely benefit from Boogie Wipes!

  28. I LOVE LOVE Boogie wipes! they smell SO awesome too. I think the Grape scent is my favorite but my husband likes the natural one too. I am a little ashamed to admit this, but I use them for MYSELF now too!

  29. I realize the contest is over, but just wanted to say thank you for your review. I’ve been thinking of getting some, and now I think I will.

Leave a Reply

