Daily Archives: January 28, 2011

She Says… My Invincible Cloak

On Tuesday when I picked my sick baby up from daycare, I did not hesitate before I cuddled him and rocked him and let him wipe his snotty nose on me and cough in my face. I’m his mom. That’s what moms do.

Apparently I thought I was wearing my invincible cloak. You know, the one that made me think that, despite his germs, I would not get sick. Because I’m the mom. Moms don’t get sick. They are invincible. At least mine always was.

Perhaps that is an acquired skill.

My voice is gone, my nose is clogged, and my throat is so swollen and dry that it feels like sandpaper when I talk. Fun! Overall I don’t actually feel that bad. The sickness is localized in my throat/nose, so I’m hoping it will pass quickly and I can get back to being Owen’s caretaker instead of having to take care of myself. Hence not posting yesterday; we’ve had a lot going on at our house!

In other news, Owen’s virus has expanded to include diarrhea and vomiting. Sigh. Over the last few days I have changed our clothes and done more laundry than I ever thought possible. Poor little lamb. Overall he’s doing ok; eating, sleeping, playing. But he’s clearly not back to his old jolly self just yet.

Hope the weekend brings GOOD HEALTH and lots of rest for both of us.