Daily Archives: December 28, 2010

She Says… Snow Day!

“The Great Blizzard of 2010″ has arrived.

Only kidding — we got a lot of snow (about 18″), but it certainly wasn’t the Armageddon that the news stations were predicting. And we live in NEW ENGLAND, so we should be ready to get dumped on once in awhile. I, for one, love snow, so I was thrilled to see the flakes coming down.

You know what’s a little harder in the snow, though? Pushing a stroller. Especially while walking an 85 lb dog down un-shoveled sidewalks.

On Sunday I took Owen out in the Baby Bjorn instead of the stroller, thinking he’d be warmer up against my body and his face would be protected if he faced me. Wrong! We had to cut our walk short because he was covered in snow and his little cheeks got chapped from the cold wind. Poor thing. So I guess the stroller is the best option because I can put the plastic rain/wind cover over him once he’s bundled in there. But pushing it over snowbanks is a serious workout!

Seeing as our days often include at least 1 and usually 2 walks (both for the dog’s sake and to act as a distraction when Owen is getting a little cranky), perhaps it’s fortunate that Owen will start daycare just as the weather turns a bit too cold for the little guy to be outside for too long. I’m trying to concentrate on the upsides of this big change. T minus 5 days until I start back at work. Oh my.