She Says… All I Want For Christmas

…is Benjamin, Owen, Schnitzel and I smiling in the glow of the Christmas tree. And you know what? That’s exactly what I’m going to get. Although I am a little sad not to be with my parents and siblings like every other year, it’s pretty exciting to imagine celebrating with my own little family in my own little house.

I’m going to bake the Christmas rolls my mom always makes for breakfast and we’ll have a leisurely morning opening presents and letting Owen eat wrapping paper. Other than that we don’t have a lot planned! This year has had so many firsts for us, and our first Christmas with Owen is one of the best. Still, it’s sort of funny to be at square one, creating our own family traditions from scratch. While I know they will develop organically over the years, it feels like we should start some this year, too. Maybe we’ll read ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas or The Polar Express to Owen on Christmas Eve. What special traditions does your family have around the holidays?

Although it’s not under the tree, I already know what Owen’s favorite Christmas present this year will be. A COUSIN!!! My brother and his wife are having a baby… today! Her water broke last night and she’s waiting for labor to begin right now. We can’t wait to hear if the baby is a boy (so far Owen is the only boy) or a girl (along with my older sister’s two girls). So excited for them. They came pretty close to having a Christmas baby!

7 responses to “She Says… All I Want For Christmas

  1. My dad always read “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas” to us. In fact, he still does! My
    Mom is a huge part of the Christmas celebration – she does the baking, the shopping, the decorating, etc., and that reading was a special thing my dad got to do with us. I will always treasure that…

    I’m sure that whatever traditions you choose and develop will make Owen happy for his whole life, and will affect his future traditions!!!

  2. Congrats on being an aunty again!

    Definitely have a story reading and movie tradition! This is our son’s first Christmas too and we watched It’s a Wonderful Life last night and I don’t have any Christmas books yet for him but we have some winter-ish ones the he loves!

  3. I hope Owen’s cousin enters the world safe and sound! Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  4. Congratulations to your brother and sister-in-law! Hope everything goes well for them. And Merry Christmas to you!

  5. One of our favorite traditions in my family (and something I love to share with everyone because I think it is such a great tradition) is everything Christmas Eve my parents give my brothers and I a Christmas book. It began with The Polar Express years and years ago and has many great books such as The Red Ranger Came Calling & Santa Calls. It’s the only thing we open on Xmas Eve together and we each take turns reading it out loud. Now we have a great collection of books that come out every Christmas. Also, now that my brothers and I are grown, my Mom gives us each a copy of the book so that when we do have our places we have a beginning collection of the Christmas library.

  6. My dad always read the birth of Jesus from Matthew to us, and now he reads it to my nephews. It’s special for us! 🙂 Congrats on the newest family member! Enjoy your new traditions and have a very Merry Christmas!

  7. Funny, we’re in the same boat! Just the three of us for Christmas morning. I’m surprisingly very excited, and not as sad as I thought to be away from my family.

    We are going to read Twas the Night before Christmas and Polar Express tonight 🙂 We think alike when it comes to books! We are also giving each other new PJs tonight so we can wake up looking cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

