She Says… A Boy’s Best Friend

It’s pretty amazing how much Owen changes from day to day. I know I’ve been saying it for 4 1/2 months, but it never ceases to amaze me how all of a sudden, one day, he’ll learn how to do something new. And from then on, he can do it. Like rolling over, which he does immediately when I put him down on his stomach now (still only rolling from tummy to back, and still only in one direction, but it’s so immediate now that it makes me laugh every time), or sleeping through the night (7pm – 6:30am, which he’s done for the last three nights!). Today I noticed he purposefully picked up a toy that had previously been too heavy for him to lift and brought it all the way to his mouth to suck on it. His fine motor skills are becoming so much more refined every single day.

You know something else that has developed in the last few days? A relationship with Schnitzel. Schnitzel, our 85 lb labradoodle, has been by Owen’s side since the day we brought him home. Sometimes whining to be taken for a walk, sometimes bringing us toys to toss for him while we play with Owen, often running to the nursery door when he hears Owen crying, and always giving him licks and sniffs. But only in the last day or so has Owen responded. It’s like a switch was flipped, and now all of a sudden Owen seems to think Schnitzel is the coolest thing since sliced bread. And since he hasn’t had sliced bread yet, he just may think Schnitzel is the coolest thing EVER. Owen breaks out into a huge smile when Schnitzel comes in the room, and opens his mouth and closes his eyes in bliss when Schnitzel licks his face. (I’m quickly learning to stop wiping the dog spit off of his face — it’s a futile mission and some exposure to germs is probably good for my little guy!)

Today during our morning playtime, Owen and I were sitting on the floor practicing sitting and standing and playing with some toys. Schnitzel came right over, plopped himself down next to us and played too. He let Owen sit next to him and pat his fur (and give him a few good grabs) and then he licked him all over. He nuzzled Owen’s head as they lay side by side, and then brought his tennis ball and dropped it right at Owen’s feet for him to toss back. Owen was totally entertained and kept cooing happily. It was so sweet I just about melted.

From the day we got Schnitzel I knew he would be an awesome “brother” for our baby, whenever he or she arrived. And now that I can see the bond between Owen and Schnitzel starting to grow, it’s pretty much the sweetest thing ever. I’m sure it will get even stronger when Owen starts eating food that can fall on the floor for Schnitzel to clean up 🙂

I know this post would have been a lot more fun with pictures, but alas, when I’m home alone I barely have enough hands to play with the dog and the baby at the same time, let alone hold a camera. My resident photographer comes home today (yay!) so I’ll try to capture their playtime soon.

8 responses to “She Says… A Boy’s Best Friend

  1. That is sooo cute! Wait until Owen wants to eat Schnitzel’s doggy treats :). I’ve seen it happen with my friends kids LOL. We dont have a dog or cat but my mother-in-law and my mom do. My son laughs hysterically at their pets and it is sooo sweet.

  2. My baby and dog are also best friends, although I haven’t given up on trying to prevent the dog from licking the baby (I see her digging up things and eating them outside!) The baby is extremely rough with the dog, but she doesn’t seem to mind at all. In fact, she still insists on sitting as close as possible to the baby. You can see that here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyCvq7RAKbs

    The dog is also the funniest thing to the baby, neither I or her father can get her to laugh like the dog can, as you can see here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJcB6ofyAu4&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

    I can never catch them being cute together with a camera, but a video recorder works much better, maybe your husband can make a cute video for us all to enjoy!

  3. It’s awesome that Schnitzel is such a great dog and Owen is starting to respond to him. I’m a little nervous about our dog, Marley, once we bring the baby home, but I think that’s more because other people are talking about it and questioning if he’ll be safe. People have already been telling us we need to keep the dog away from the baby and never allow him in the nursery, etc… I’ve never been worried about how Marley would react though, since he’s always been really good with babies and young kids. I hope that our child has a strong bond with Marley just like Owen and Schnitzel do.

  4. Kara, Oh my goodness those videos are PRECIOUS!!!

  5. I can’t wait until Lucy starts recognizing Buddy. Also, Owen is adorable and Schnitzel is adorable, so the combo of the two must be ultra adorable – can’t wait for a pic or two 🙂

  6. I love to hear this. We have a black lab puppy, Rocco, and I’m having our first baby this coming Sat. Rocco is only 9 mths old (yes, the math is right … we didn’t know about the baby when we got the puppy!) and we’ve been a little concerned about how he’ll be with Maya. This is great insight!!!! We’ve been letting him sniff everything and he’s been in the nursery when we’ve put stuff together and my husband will bring her baby blankets home before we get home but I’m still a little nervous!

  7. Oh my goodness. How precious. I really hope our two dogs are just as welcoming with our little one. We have a Maltese who has been great with our friend’s one year old–they’re about the perfect size for each other! We also have a lab who doesn’t quite know what to think of the little guy moving, but I think that if she’s introduced to the baby from the get-go everything will be fine. Can’t wait for a few pictures of the two of them!

  8. I love this post! I can’t wait to see our zoo with the baby! And yes, please post pics soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

