She Says… Mr. and Mrs. Mom

Benjamin has had to travel quite a bit for work recently. I remember back in July how much I dreaded the first time Benjamin would go away and I would have to take care of Owen (and Schnitzel) all by myself for a few days at a time. Back then it took every bit of my energy just to get us out the door for a dog walk, let alone get to the grocery store to pick up some milk.

My how the times have changed in just a few short months.

Benjamin was in New York for a few days last week, and left yesterday morning for San Diego for a few days. Now his traveling is part of our schedule, and I am happy to say that I hold down the fort pretty well while he’s gone. Don’t get me wrong — I wish he’d stay home! But his traveling helps me realize just how capable I am as a mom and a wife, and definitely helps me see how far we’ve come in 4 1/2 months.

Yesterday, amidst playing and napping and eating, we took a dog walk, did the week’s worth of grocery shopping, went to a doctor’s appointment, put the trash and recycling out, washed all the dishes (usually Benjamin’s domain), and successfully gave Owen a bath and did our normal bedtime routine. Today we’re accomplishing just as much, and may even head out to pick up a few more Christmas decorations. Ah, it feels so good to be so calm and happy while getting all of those things done!

Blogging is one of the little things that falls by the wayside when Benjamin is traveling, though, since eating, doing dishes and keeping the house relatively tidy are my top priorities during Owen’s naptimes. So when he returns we’ll get back to more interesting posts and more pictures 🙂

Until then, I’m too busy being Mr. and Mrs. Mom!

4 responses to “She Says… Mr. and Mrs. Mom

  1. I admire you for your ability to handle everything. My husband went away for one night last week and although I made it through, it was not easy. I may need to ask for advice if my husband has to go away for more than one night.

  2. I remember the days when I didn’t have time to bathe or brush my teeth. Couldn’t remember if I’d eaten and certainly didn’t change clothes. It makes me feel empowered when I realize what all I’ve become capable of!

  3. I really admire you for being able to do it sans family help! My husband travels a lot for work too (we are in the middle of a 2 week strech right now) but I have both grandmas within 10 miles of here so that helps a TON!

  4. Mr., Mrs., Super … 🙂 You go, girl!

Leave a Reply

