She Says… Zzzzzzz

That’s what Owen did. All night. He slept from 7pm to 6am with nothing more than a few squeaks. Believe me, I am well aware that this may have been a fluke, and that I might not get another night like that for a few days or weeks. But I am keeping my fingers crossed that he’ll continue the trend!

Since Thanksgiving I have been slowly stepping down the amount of milk he drinks at night. Around that time he was getting up twice, around midnight and 4am, and eating both times. Originally he was eating a full 6 ounce bottle at both of those feedings. Slowly he began to eat less at the 4am feeding, so I took his cue and worked from there. Every 4 or 5 days I would give him one less ounce at the 4am feeding than the night before. Once we got to 2 ounces, he would protest a little when the bottle was empty, but would settle right down to sleep when I put him back in his crib. That assured me that he wasn’t hungry and was eating out of habit/for comfort. After a night or two of the 2 ounce bottle, he just decided to sleep right on through that 4am feeding, no problem. Since then I’ve been slowly decreasing the amount at the midnight feeding as well. Two nights ago we got down to 2 ounces, and tonight he slept through the night for the first time ever. Coincidence? I think not!

I keep track of how many ounces he eats a day, and once I started eliminating the night time ounces, it took him a few days, but he eventually figured out how to take those ounces in during the day. I wanted to make sure I wasn’t starving the poor kid or under-nourishing him by taking away the night time bottles. Now that he’s consistently eating about 33 ounces a day during the day time, I’m not concerned about that! He’s a little piggy 🙂

I think adding solid foods made a big difference in his sleep patterns as well. For one, it helped me feel more comfortable with stretching him a little longer at night, knowing that his belly was full of good nutrients and fats from avocado and peas (his FAVORITE so far!). And it also helped him feel full enough to sleep soundly all night. Yay for food!

Unfortunately for me, I didn’t really get to enjoy this first quiet night. Benjamin left for a work trip at 4:30am this morning, so I was up late while he packed and then up early when I heard him get in the shower. Not to worry, though, I’m sure this will happen again… whether it’s tonight or tomorrow or next week or next month. I’m just thrilled to know he can do it! And I didn’t have to push him.

5 responses to “She Says… Zzzzzzz

  1. SPECTACULAR! Man, that is exactly what every parent wishes would happen. I hope he repeats it!

    One thing a friend of mine did that I wish I had – once her babies skipped an overnight feeding, she stopped offering it. She knew they could go that length of time without a bottle. If they woke up, she might go in and try to comfort with a pat on the back or a pacifier replacement or whatever, but she no longer offered a bottle. I blindly stuck with my routine of wake up = bottle, and ended up adding back a feeding that they had dropped, which I think ultimately led to an increased reliance on the bottle to fall asleep and then the need to do CIO to eliminate the habit. Do what my friend did, not what I did! 🙂

    Anyways, HOORAY and YAY and WOOHOO! Excellent milestone.

  2. Goddess, Yes! That’s my plan. Once he slept through the 4am feeding I never offered it again. Sometimes he got up and cried at that time, but I went in and shh/patted him instead of feeding. Same goes for the midnight feeding now, so no more food at night for my little guy. Hooray!

  3. Yay!! Way to go Owen (and you, Kate!). That is what we did with Eli at night… except he cut out the midnight feeding first. I started to notice that he wasn’t nursing for very long and was falling back asleep while eating, and a couple of days later he just slept right through. Then he followed suit with the 4am feeding.

    We gave Eli avocado again and now he loves them, too! He has decided that he is no longer a fan of peas or sweet potatoes. He loves zucchini and butternut squash though!

  4. Congrats! Awesome milestone! 🙂

  5. I think I’m one of those mother’s that everyone hates…..because my son was sleeping until 6am by 2 1/2 months old. He can go twelve hours without feeding at night! He just sleeps solidly through! Today he slept in til 8:30 after his morning feeding!

    Every once in a while he’ll have a few days of growth spurt where he needs to eat more like 4:30 or 5am but it doesn’t last long. I go completely by his cues. I never offer him anything unless he asks.

    The only reason I feel totally comfortable with letting him sleep at night so much without feeding is that he’s a chunker! At 2 months he was over 12 pounds and at 3 months old he’s almost 15 pounds! So no trouble growing here. I’m sure he’ll slow down soon though.

Leave a Reply

