Daily Archives: December 2, 2010

She Says… Merry Christmas to ME

I’m feeling very Christmas-y today. Owen and I danced around to Christmas music yesterday and it got me in the holiday spirit. I LOVE Christmas. I love the decorations and the lights and the music and the presents and the parties and the food and the traditions and the snow. All of it.

Since we started dating, Benjamin and I have spent every Christmas with my family. I have three siblings who I am very close to and countless family Christmas traditions that I adore, and since we live near Benjamin’s family and see them a lot more often throughout the rest of the year, it only seemed fair to give me my favorite holiday with my family. Over the last few years figuring out where to spend Christmas has gotten more and more complicated, as it always does when families expand. Now that we have Owen, my older sister has 2 kids, and my brother and his wife are due with their first baby on Christmas Eve, it seemed like a logical year to switch it up and spend Christmas in our own little house. Time to start some new traditions, I guess. While I am sad that I won’t be waking up with my family like usual, I am giddy with excitement to experience an intimate Christmas morning with just Benjamin and Owen (and Schnitzel, of course!). I know Owen won’t know the difference between Christmas or any other day this year, but there is something so special about waking him up in his little footie pajamas and watching his face in the glow of the twinkling lights on our tree. So precious.

Generally Benjamin and I have so many people to buy Christmas presents for (aka my big family) that we don’t really do presents for each other. But this year, since it will just be the two of us, we’ve decided to give each other something.

Do you know what I’m getting?

That’s right. My very own freezer to fill to my heart’s content with breastmilk and homemade baby food. Seriously, I’m so excited. Benjamin says that’s not my only present… but I’d be happy even if it was!

Benjamin is TOUGH to buy for. He never wants anything except expensive camera/video gear that I can’t pick out or afford. Hmmm.

I’m off to spend the rest of naptime unearthing our Christmas decorations! Can’t wait to put them up.