Daily Archives: December 1, 2010

She Says… A Tiny Foodie In The Making

Benjamin and I both LOVE food. We talk about it, dream about it, plan days and trips around it and thoroughly enjoy eating and cooking it. We’re adventurous eaters and have very few foods that we hate or won’t eat. It’s one of the things I love about Benjamin, actually — he’s always up for trying something new that I’ve cooked up in the kitchen. If I ever have hours and hours of free time again, I would absolutely choose to spend them pouring over cookbooks and food magazines and then cooking up a storm.

It shouldn’t surprise me, then, that Owen took to food like a fish to water.

It did surprise me a little, however, because I was expecting tongue thrusting and gagging and confusion, especially considering that we’re starting foods early, at barely over 4 months. But instead what I got was confirmation that Owen was definitely ready to eat, eat, eat.

First I mixed up a delicious combo of avocado (one of my absolutely favorite foods, not to mention nutritious and calorie-dense) and breast milk. I let Owen touch the avocado and smell it before I cut it… but honestly I think he couldn’t have cared less about what I was doing.

Owen waited patiently in his Bumbo and played with his new bib.

Then I put a little on the spoon and let it touch his lips. He furrowed his brow for a second, and then started smacking his lips. More, Mama! He didn’t know to open his mouth, so the spoonfuls were half on his lips and half smooshed into his mouth, but I think he actually ate at least a few! That was way more than I was expecting from his first foray into the wonderful world of food.

I think he liked it. But it’s kind of hard to tell. He didn’t really give me an “all done” signal, so I cut him off after a few minutes. I don’t want to inundate the poor kid’s system with too much of a new thing.

Can’t wait to try again today!